Book Reviews

Review: Finnikin of the Rock

Finnikin of the Rock
Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchetta

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I’m going to attempt to put into words why I recommend Finnikin of the Rock to everyone. I finished this book at the beginning of May, so I’ve had awhile to let it sit, but I’m still completely blown away whenever I think about it – it really is one of those books that stays with you long after you’ve finished reading it.

I’m a huge world building geek, so that was the first thing I noticed. The world building in this book was, in a word, exquisite. As elaborate as it was – all the countries, people, cultures! – it felt completely realistic, and I never felt overwhelmed or like Marchetta was throwing in names just to emphasize the fact that this is a fantasy novel. Instead, she introduce this world, and drew us further into it by letting the story unfold.

What really struck me, though, was the realism of the story – the characters, their struggles, the bigger conflict, etc. There’s no Dark Lord or any figure of that sort here – this is a story that you could easily take and set in our world. My favorite fantasy stories are the ones that have elements of our world in them, and this story about humanity and identity absolutely falls under that heading.

I read a lot of fantasy. There are some fantasy books I’d only recommend to fellow fantasy enthusiasts, and there are others that I’d recommend to everyone. Finnikin of the Rock is one of the latter.

View all my reviews

4 thoughts on “Review: Finnikin of the Rock”

  1. I really enjoyed Finnikin as well. I agree that it seems more grounded and real than a typical fantasy. I also really liked Froi of the Exiles, the sequel, which is a little weirder but wound up sticking in my head even more.

Leave a Reply

