Book Reviews

Review: When You Reach Me

When You Reach Me
When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Actual Rating: 3.5 Stars

What I liked most about When You Reach Me were the characters. Each of them was really interesting and whimsical, and all of the details Miranda gave them about us were perfect. Although, the downside to this was, I wanted to read more about the other characters, and less about Miranda. To be honest, I didn’t really care about her so much at the end, since she wasn’t as interesting to me.

All of the time travel aspects of this made my head spin. The discussions were very…let’s call it well-informed. While it was nice to see how well-developed the time travel concept was in this book – especially since it plays such a huge role – it all went over my head. (Then again, I’ve never really thought about time travel theories, so I’m not exactly an expert on the subject.)

Overall, this was a quick, enjoyable read. I’m not jumping out of my seat about this book, but I didn’t dislike it, either.

View all my reviews

1 thought on “Review: When You Reach Me”

  1. Oh, man… I LOVED this book! It gave me chills and made me gasp and made me teary, all those awesome things truly affecting books do. Definitely one of my favorite middle grades. Even though we have different takes on this one, I do appreciate your thoughtful review (as always!). 🙂

Leave a Reply

