And Then Life Happened · History Thursday

What I did on my summer vacation: now including pretty dresses

Currently Listening To: Melanie C – “Think About It”
Currently Reading: Mastiff by Tamora Pierce

Last week I totally freaked out over the Library of Congress. This week I’ll share some of my pictures from a couple Smithsonians: Natural History and American History. We hit both of them in the same day, since they’re next to each other, and while both were pretty cool, the American History museum was my favorite (surprise, surprise).

I spent most of my time in the Natural History Museum doing things like this…

…and this. OMG. THEY HAD DINOSAURS.

I’ll be totally honest. Most of the things in the Natural History Museum Weren’t Really My Thing, because Science. Except the dinosaurs; who doesn’t love dinosaurs?

Also, pretty jewelry.

I briefly glanced at the Hope Diamond, just to say I’ve seen it, but I was really interested in three pieces in particular: jewelry Napoleon gave to his wife as a gift, something called the Inquisition Necklace (which was way less exciting once I read that it didn’t actually have anything to do with the Spanish Inquisition – SAD FACE), and Marie Antoinette’s earrings, which I spent plenty of time salivating over:

I’ve been interested in Marie Antoinette since middle school, so seeing her REAL, LIVE JEWELRY made me freak out (but quietly, since it was wall to wall people and I didn’t want to accidentally flail on someone in the face). Also, this back half of my WIP has taken on some inspiration from the French Revolution, so I think seeing this was especially good timing.

And then we went on to the American History Museum, which was EVEN MORE PEOPLE. Which, for the record, is SO NOT MY THING. But that’s okay, because U.S. History IS my thing. As are pretty dresses and Daniel Radcliffe’s actual costume from Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone.

YES. THIS HAPPENED.

Hey, look! First Lady dresses!

I don’t remember whose this is, since I didn’t take picture of the placard below it. But just to show how far back these dresses on display go, this one looks Edwardian in style, so that would put it in the early 1900s. And they had dresses even older than that…

And, of course, Michelle Obama’s dress was on display. It was my favorite – although it definitely looks better on her than it did in person.

And finally, speaking of things that are Really Old, I ran into this guy in the military history exhibit:

George Washington’s uniform. I couldn’t find anything that said it was a replica, so I’m going to assume it was the ACTUAL UNIFORM. (Also, I’d like to mention he was REALLY TALL. Which is sort of hard to tell from the picture.)

I’m going to end things here for now, because it’s really hot (read: above 80 degrees), and I really want to go find somewhere with A/C to hide out. Stay tuned in the meantime for more 🙂

2 thoughts on “What I did on my summer vacation: now including pretty dresses

Leave a Reply

