Book Reviews

Review: Froi of the Exiles

Froi of the Exiles
Froi of the Exiles by Melina Marchetta

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Honestly, I can’t decide whether I love this one or Finnikin more, because they are both SO GOOD. I love Finnikin for introducing us to such a realistic world, and for Finnikin and Evanjalin, and for its themes of identity. On the other hand, I love Froi for how totally awesome a character Froi has turned into, how perpetually frustrated and confused he is by Quintana, and the themes tackling the idea of family.

I wasn’t a huge fan of Froi in the first book. Every time he showed up, I mostly just wanted him to leave, because, I mean, FINNIKIN AND EVANJALIN. (Obviously, I don’t really care how significant a secondary character he was.) In this book, though, Froi really comes into his own, and might actually be my favorite character in the entire series so far. It’s really interesting to see how far he’s come since we first met him in the first book, and it’ll be interesting to see how he continues to develop.

And Quintana. I don’t even know what to make of her, honestly. I was simultaneously loving and confused by her every time she showed up, but couldn’t help but root for her, anyway. And, let’s face it, watching her and Froi square off was one of the highlights of the book.

I read this at the end of May, and while I couldn’t tell you exactly how it ends now, apparently it was frustrating enough that I wrote, WHAT is this ending. Srsly. in the notebook I write all of my notes on books in. So, you know, interpret that as you will.

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Review: Froi of the Exiles”

Leave a Reply

