Book Reviews

Review: The Poison Diaries

The Poison Diaries
The Poison Diaries by Maryrose Wood

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I…did not like this book. There were parts of it I absolutely adored, but overall, The Poison Diaries just didn’t do it for me.

I thought the voice of Jessamine, the main character, was great. I got from page one just how lonely she is. And based on that, I really wanted to root for her – especially because she’s stuck with no one but her completely twisted father for company. But…I just couldn’t connect with her. She just seemed too good. She did have flaws – naivety chief among them – but they only added to this whole good girl image, and if you are familiar with my love of ambiguous characters, you’ll understand my problem with this. Others may not have this problem.

I was completely in love with the setting. The way it was described throughout the book made it my favorite part – to me, the setting was really the star, to the point where, for me, it overpowered any of the characters. As much as I love setting, I find this problematic, because as a reader, I feel like a book should tell the characters’ story, not the setting’s. The setting can play an integral part in a story – like it does here – but it shouldn’t be the story.

Despite the reservations I’ve already expressed, I was still ready to give this book a 3/5…and then we hit the ending. To me, the ending came out of nowhere, and was just so completely unbelievable, I almost put the book down (which I never, ever do).

To be honest, I can’t really think of anyone I would recommend this book to. A lot of people have given this book high ratings, so obviously they found something I didn’t. I, however, was unimpressed.

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Review: The Poison Diaries”

  1. I'm with you on this, love. I read it when it first came out–well, a good two-thirds of it, but just couldn't finish it. Sometimes you just have to give up, and this was one of those few books for me. The first half of it gripped me, but after the midway point it just fell flat. *shrugs*

  2. Usually books can salvage themselves for me if they've got enough things that I like…so it's very rare that I just flat-out don't like a book. It makes me sad when I do find those books, but some things just aren't for everyone…

Leave a Reply

