Book Reviews, Road Trip Wednesday

Road Trip Wednesday: Best Book of August

Currently Listening To: Braveheart Soundtrack
Currently Reading: A Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin

Road Trip Wednesday is a ‘Blog Carnival,’ where YA Highway’s contributors post a weekly writing- or reading-related question that begs to be answered. In the comments, you can hop from destination to destination and get everybody’s unique take on the topic.

We’d love for you to participate! Just answer the prompt on your own blog and leave a link – or, if you prefer, you can include your answer in the comments.

This Week’s Topic is: What was the best book you read in August?

My top pick – and there were several possibilities – is Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas.

This book threw me back to my Tamora Pierce days in high school, because Celaena reminded me a lot of some of those heroines – she was just as smart and determined as any of them, and has to use these tools to survive when she gets swept into things way bigger than her. Also, there was the added fact that Celaena doesn’t trust people – which is completely understandable, what with the whole being imprisoned in salt mines thing – and I felt like her journey toward making friends was believable.

I also really loved the love triangle. A lot of times, it’s sort of obvious who the author wants the MC to end up with, and the other love interest is just a token – not so here. I felt like both Chaol and Dorian were good matches for Celaena, but each of them appealed to different parts of her. (Although, given the lack of Dorian love, I have to make my preference for him known.)

Additionally, reading the book, it’s very clear just how much time Sarah put into it (I mean, ten years worth of time), because even with the things that were going on, there were always hints of more layers beneath them, even if they didn’t actually take center stage in the book. I feel like reading the prequel novellas before the book came out actually helped me appreciate this more, because I was aware of the fact that there was more going on, and it also helped in understanding Celaena more.

There was one thing that bothered me while I was reading, and it was the fact that I couldn’t really understand the King’s motives for wanting to conquer everyone and their mother. He does some pretty terrible things, but it’s never really clear why. I kept looking for that one redeeming quality (because, remember, I love me some villains), but I just couldn’t find it.

Because of that one thing that bothered me, I’m going to rate Throne of Glass 4.5/5. But I’ll definitely be tearing through the rest of the series, and hoping we get to read all six of the books that Sarah says she has planned.

And just because this post isn’t long enough, here are a couple honorable mentions:

This is Not a Test by Courtney Summers: I was actually going to review this on Monday for YA Book Club, but didn’t get to because I was busy dealing with real life. I’ll post a full review at some point, but trust me – you want to read this. Now. Talk about an intense book.

Something Strange and Deadly by Susan Dennard: If you’re thinking that zombies and the Victorian era sound awesome together, you would be correct. And also, Daniel. Enough said.

8 thoughts on “Road Trip Wednesday: Best Book of August”

  1. I just read another glowing review of THRONE OF GLASS, so I went on over to The Book Depository and ordered a copy for myself. I got the British paperback with the awesome drawing of the MC on the front. I'm a big Tamora Pierce fan, so after reading your review, I'm especially excited. Thanks! 🙂

  2. I keep seeing this one and think I need to add it to my TBR list! What a great review – and I can't believe it took her 10 years to get this one done! Wow…that's some serious effort there!Thanks for the great reco!

Leave a Reply

