Book Reviews

Review: Before I Fall

Before I Fall
Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Having read everything else by Lauren Oliver, I decided to give Before I Fall a shot. I tend not to be as into contemporary as I am into fantasy and dystopian, but this was definitely an exception.

I completely hated Samantha at the beginning of the book. She reminded me so much of all those girls in middle school and high school I avoided like the plague. But as the book went on, I hated her less and less – I even felt sorry for her, and I really, really hoped she’d be able to make things right. She’s introduced to us as a girl who seemingly has everything, and treats everyone else who doesn’t like dirt, but as the book goes on, we realize just how insecure she really is, which makes her a character who is really easy to sympathize with and root for.

I can’t really go too much further into my thoughts on this book without giving spoilers. I do have to say, though, that I was a little iffy about the whole seven days over and over concept, but that definitely wasn’t an issue in this book for me. Each day is different, even when the same things happen, because Sam’s thoughts and reactions shift as the book goes on and she realizes that doing even one small thing differently can change everything.

I recommend this book even if you’re not a huge fan of contemporary, because there’s so much to learn about character development here.

View all my reviews

4 thoughts on “Review: Before I Fall”

  1. Love, love, LOVE this book. Like you, I was iffy about the seven repeated days thing, but I ended up blown away by how unique and absorbing each day was. Also, the whole time I was reading I was hoping the book WOULDN'T end the way it did, but then when it was over, I was totally on board. Lauren Oliver's ending just fit.

Leave a Reply

