Road Trip Wednesday

Road Trip Wednesday: Back To School

Currently Listening To: Brooks & Dunn – “Red Dirt Road”
Currently Reading: A Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin

Road Trip Wednesday is a ‘Blog Carnival,’ where YA Highway’s contributors post a weekly writing- or reading-related question that begs to be answered. In the comments, you can hop from destination to destination and get everybody’s unique take on the topic.

We’d love for you to participate! Just answer the prompt on your own blog and leave a link – or, if you prefer, you can include your answer in the comments.

This Week’s Topic is: Back to school time! What’s your favorite book that you had to read for a class?

My all-time favorite book that I read for a class is The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath, which I read my sophomore year of college for History of U.S. Women Since 1865.

Plath’s depiction of Esther’s feelings of being trapped, and the madness that follows as Esther finds herself unable to cope anymore, was so genuine and powerful that this book has been one of my favorite books ever since I read it.

Honorable Mentions:

The Awakening by Kate Chopin: I read this the same quarter as The Bell Jarfor my Women in Literature class. Highly recommend if you’re interested in Victorian women.

The Scarlet Letterby Nathaniel Hawthorne: A staple of junior year English classes everywhere, I was probably the only person in my entire high school who actually enjoyed it (even if we spent WAY TOO MUCH TIME analyzing the symbolism of the pond scene).

I actually liked most of the things I remember reading in school, so I’d also like to give shout outs to To Kill a Mockingbird, The Outsiders, and Shakespeare.

What was your favorite book from school?

Leave a Reply

