Book Reviews

Review: Circle of Fire

Circle of Fire (Prophecy of the Sisters, #3)Circle of Fire by Michelle Zink

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

After the disappointment that the second book was, I was worried that this one would be, too. Fortunately, I was wrong.

I feel like the stakes were definitely raised in this one, probably because of the final battle looming in Lia’s immediate future. This means that both sides were scrambling into position, tensions were rising, and choices were made, all of which made for a gripping read. Also, the stakes here were very, very clear: fail, and the whole world is over.

I like the romance between Lia and Dimitri more than I liked the romance between Lia and James. Lia and Dimitri’s relationship felt a lot more mature, which I thought fit a lot better, given how much Lia has had to mature over the course of the series. That being said, I do wish the romance had been toned down a little bit – there were other things going on, and I wanted to see more of those!

There were a couple of things that bothered me, mostly having to do with discoveries related to Important Plot Points that felt a little too neat to me. (Obviously, they didn’t bother me that much, since I still gave the book 4 stars.)

While this wasn’t a perfect ending to the Prophecy of the Sisters trilogy, it was a satisfying one, and especially worth a read if you were disappointed by Guardian of the Gate.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

