Book Reviews

Review: Abandon

Abandon (Abandon Trilogy, #1)Abandon by Meg Cabot

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Actual Rating: 2.5/5

I’ve been a fan of Meg Cabot since I was in high school, and the Persephone myth is one of my favorites, so as soon as I saw the two of these combined, I knew I had to read Abandon.

I enjoyed this book. It was quick and entertaining, which is pretty much the bare minimum for me as far as books are concerned. That was about all it had going for it, though. The characters felt very bland to me – there wasn’t much to them aside from Pierce being just like every single other character from every single Meg Cabot book, and there wasn’t much to John aside from being Hot and Mysterious.

I also felt like the Big Reveal at the end was poorly executed. I didn’t even see it coming, but it had less to do with the fact that Cabot pulled one over on me and more to do with the fact that the clues just weren’t planted very well. (And trust me, if she’d executed that plot twist well without me picking up on it – which doesn’t happen very often – I’d have given this book 5 stars just for that.)

I’m still going to give the rest of this series a chance, though, because I feel like this first book set up for some very interesting things later on. That’s mostly what this book felt like to me – setup. It felt like an introduction to the characters and their backstories, with not much else happening. Now that that’s all out of the way, though, I’m hoping there will be more action to come.

I’d recommend this if you’re a diehard fan of Meg Cabot, but otherwise you can probably just skip it. It was an interesting twist on the Persephone myth, but it didn’t quite live up to its potential, at least for me.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

