Fire

The Next Big Thing Meme

Currently Listening To: Mumford & Sons – “Below My Feet”
Currently Reading: A Feast For Crows by George R. R. Martin

Rachel posted this on her blog, so I decided to do one about my next project, FIRE, which I’m planning to be working on in between doing revisions on SHARDS.*

So. FIRE.

Where did the idea come from for this book?

So for NaNo last year, I thought it would be fun to try writing dystopian, since I’d been reading a lot of it. And I thought, what if there was a world war that happened and sent the world back to a time that wasn’t as technologically advanced. OMG WITCH TRIALS.

As it turns out, dystopian isn’t really my forte. So I’ve taken the witch trial idea and am repurposing it for a fantasy story. Finally, all of the research I did on inquisition trials in college will be good for something…

What genre does the book fall under?

Like SHARDS, this one can be classified as a Political Fantasy, which is pretty much my favorite genre to read and write ever. This one, though, might be crossing that mystical line into New Adult, because my main characters are 18 and 19 and are trying to figure out the whole Being An Adult thing. That being said, I’ll also be toying with themes of coming of age and figuring out one’s place in the world that would appeal to YA readers.

What actors would you choose to play your characters in a film version?

I sort of picture Bonnie Wright for my MC, Aimee. And I’m thinking Darren Criss for Darren.

A one sentence synopsis of your book?

18-year-old Aimee must take her father’s place on the ruling council of the city-state of Alma when her father is falsely convicted of using witchcraft, setting her on a collision course toward uncovering truths about her world the other council members would rather keep hidden.

What about you? What are you working on? Feel free to steal this meme! The more the merrier 🙂

*Speaking of SHARDS, I’m within 5k of the end, but I’ve been working on revising some of the earlier chapters. I’m going to try to finish Draft 3 of SHARDS on the plane down to SoCal for a wedding this weekend so I can devote ALL of my attention to Draft 4. OKAY I’VE TALKED ABOUT IT THIS MONTH NOW.

2 thoughts on “The Next Big Thing Meme”

Leave a Reply

