Book Reviews

Review: The Demon King

The Demon King (Seven Realms, #1)The Demon King by Cinda Williams Chima

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This is one of my new favorite fantasy series. I read this first book over the summer after coming across it on YA Highway’s Road Trip Wednesday, and I’ve devoured all three books and am currently on the waiting list at the library for the next one. (The only reason I haven’t just bought them all? An unfortunate lack of extra funds.)

The book started off really slow, and it felt like there wasn’t much happening. By about halfway through, though, I couldn’t put the book down. Looking back on it later, I realized the reason things were so slow was for world building and characterization – we really get a chance to get to know the world and the characters before things really get going, which just ups the stakes later on.

My favorite part of the book was the characters. We spend the most time with Han – a reforming street lord with secrets not even he knows about – and Raisa – the Princess Heir who doesn’t want to spend her whole life doing things just for political reasons. I love each of these characters by themselves, but watching them interact is a lot of fun, too. And the secondary characters are also intriguing – especially Amon, Raisa’s childhood friend who has to battle between his affection for his Princess Heir and his duty to protect the royal line.

This book has all of my favorite things: magic, politics, romance, realistic characters. This is definitely a series I’ll reread multiple times.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Review: The Demon King

Leave a Reply

