NaNoWriMo, Road Trip Wednesday

Road Trip Wednesday: November is coming.

Road Trip Wednesday is a ‘Blog Carnival,’ where YA Highway’s contributors post a weekly writing- or reading-related question that begs to be answered. In the comments, you can hop from destination to destination and get everybody’s unique take on the topic.

We’d love for you to participate! Just answer the prompt on your own blog and leave a link – or, if you prefer, you can include your answer in the comments.

This Week’s Topic is:Are you doing NaNoWriMo, or have you ever? Does having a deadline inspire you?

I’m doing NaNo this year…for the seventh time. I’ve actually only won once – way back in 2007, when I was in my first quarter of college and not taking very many credits or having much of a social life – and I came really, really close last year. But I’m not even really doing it for the whole “winning” aspect anymore (as much as I love winning). What I really like is the community, whether it’s online or around town at regional events. Also, NaNo 2007 was the first time I’d ever completed a novel, which is something I’m still proud of, even if I haven’t opened the Word doc since.

I wouldn’t say that having a deadline inspires me. More like motivates. I’ve always been the person who has a hard time getting anything done until the deadline is staring me in the face – not gonna lie, when I had papers in college, I rarely started researching more than a month before the paper was due, and the actual writing was done the day or two before. Having a deadline just gives me the kick in the pants to get moving and get things done.

What about you? Are you doing NaNo? If you are, feel free to add me 🙂

Leave a Reply

