Road Trip Wednesday

Road Trip Wednesday: Book to Film

Currently Listening To: Shinedown – “Second Chance”
Currently Re-reading: Brightly Woven by Alexandra Bracken

Road Trip Wednesday is a ‘Blog Carnival,’ where YA Highway’s contributors post a weekly writing- or reading-related question that begs to be answered. In the comments, you can hop from destination to destination and get everybody’s unique take on the topic.

We’d love for you to participate! Just answer the prompt on your own blog and leave a link – or, if you prefer, you can include your answer in the comments.

This Week’s Topic is: It isn’t surprising that this month’s Bookmobile selection, Leigh Bardugo’s Shadow and Bone, has sold film rights; the darkly magical world of the Shadow Fold begs for an on-screen translation! But that got us wondering. We’d like to know, in your opinion, what is it that makes some books seem ideal for a film translation?

***

I think what people look for most of all is a way to escape our world for a couple hours, which is why I think movies like Harry Potter and Lord of the Rings are so popular. Sure, they already have built-in audiences (let’s be honest, all of the people who waited in line for eight hours with me for the last Harry Potter movie were all people who’d already read the book), but these movies also draw in entirely new audiences, too. Having fans already helps, but I think what makes these movies so popular is that they take us away into worlds full of magic, and butt-kicking heroes, and good triumphing over evil, and so many people really want to believe these things exist.

I’ve also noticed that there needs to be a happy ending, because who, aside from Nicholas Sparks fans, wants to go sit in a movie for two or three hours and be unspeakably depressed when they walk out? We can watch teenagers slaughter each other in an arena for two hours, but it’s okay, because Katniss is going to win in the end. Harry is going to defeat Voldemort. Frodo is going to get the Ring to Mount Doom. Maybe some of us don’t know these things going into it (um, hello, read the books?), but it’s still so easy to believe, which is the important part.

And, of course, every movie needs its totally epic score.

7 thoughts on “Road Trip Wednesday: Book to Film”

  1. Can you imagine what would happen if Katniss didn’t win? If Voldemort really killed Harry or if Frodo kept the ring forever? People would be SO angry! Imagine the uproar!

  2. Ah yes, the epic score. Definitely! Some of the movies I’d call my favourites are at least in part due to the fact that they have an awesome score. It really completes the movie experience. This is one of the things that drove me totally bonkers about the first TWILIGHT movie (among other things). The lame-arse extended music video nature of the film felt all wrong and distracting to me.

    And I so want to laugh about Nicholas Sparks and the not-so-happy endings. Too true! For me, movies are all about escapism (or mostly, anyway) and I’d rather not leave feeling utterly depressed. There has to be something to take away from it that makes it feel worth watching. 🙂

    1. When I do watch Nicholas Sparks movies, it’s at home, with a happy movie read to watch right after it’s over. (I was so mad when my sister lied to me and said The Last Song had a happy ending. I should’ve known better!)

      I actually have the Twilight soundtracks, because I like the music…but I can’t stand the movies. I end up doing that a lot, listening to soundtracks, with no intention of ever watching a movie (or watching a movie again).

  3. Happy endings… hmmm… my wife and I went on a double-date with some friends of ours back in the early 90s. We had dinner then went to see Shindler’s List (this was when it first came out). We were so glad we had dinner first. We left the theater looking at each other–there wasn’t anything to say. The movie was so sad, shocking… a superb movie, but not the kind of movie you talk excitedly about afterward. 🙂

Leave a Reply

