Book Reviews, Road Trip Wednesday

Road Trip Wednesday: Best Book of October

Road Trip Wednesday is a ‘Blog Carnival,’ where YA Highway’s contributors post a weekly writing- or reading-related question that begs to be answered. In the comments, you can hop from destination to destination and get everybody’s unique take on the topic. 

We’d love for you to participate! Just answer the prompt on your own blog and leave a link – or, if you prefer, you can include your answer in the comments.

This Week’s Topic is: What was the best book you read in October?

I didn’t read that many books in October because I started working again finally (yay!), and that sort of put a dent in my reading. Of the books I did read, there was one clear winner:

I read If I Lie in one sitting, because it was that good, probably one of the best books I’ve read this year. While I guessed what Carey’s secret was pretty much before I started reading, what really drew me in was Quinn’s struggle – her inner struggle over whether she should tell Carey’s secret and set herself free, her struggle not to show her town how much their treatment of her really hurts her, her struggle against her mother’s memory. I think all of these things were portrayed very well, and Quinn is one of the strongest female characters – the strongest characters period – I’ve read in awhile.

The secondary characters were also done very well. Each of them had a clear conflict, and even though I didn’t really want to like people such as Quinn’s dad, I still couldn’t help sympathizing with them.

I also really appreciated how veterans portrayed in this book. As penance, Quinn’s father forces her to volunteer at the local VA hospital, and Quinn really comes to enjoy her time there, and even to form a family with the people there. I really appreciated the sensitivity with which this aspect of the story was portrayed.

Honorable Mentions:

The Gray Wolf Throne by Cinda Williams Chima: I read this one in about two days, and was very sad to learn that the new one wasn’t out yet. (It is now, but I’m waiting on it from the library. Sigh.) This one really upped the ante, since things really, really get set into motion. I can’t wait to read the last one and see how this series ends!

False Memory by Dan Krokos: I wasn’t sure about this one going into it since it’s not normally the sort of thing I read, but I ended up really enjoying it. Miranda reminded me a lot of Katniss, and the twists really kept me guessing (which is pretty much impossible to do).

What awesome things did you read in October?

7 thoughts on “Road Trip Wednesday: Best Book of October”

  1. Both IF I LIE and FALSE MEMORY are on my TBR list. So many people have had great things to say about them. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on them! 🙂

Leave a Reply

