Book Reviews

Review: Something Strange and Deadly

Something Strange and DeadlySomething Strange and Deadly by Susan Dennard

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I was already excited about Something Strange and Deadly because it’s set during one of my favorite periods in U.S. History. And then I discovered there were zombies involved, so naturally I had to go forth and purchase this book and read it.

It took me a couple of pages to get well and truly hooked; there was just something about the beginning that I can’t put my finger on that I couldn’t really get into. Once I got past this, though, I was in. I thought Eleanor was a little annoying at first – she struck me as a whiney society girl, which I guess she pretty much was – but she grew on me as the book went on, with her determination to save her brother no matter what.

I was very much pro-Daniel from the start. He reminded me a lot of Sawyer from Lost – he comes across as a huge jerk, but there’s a softer side underneath all of that. And while I’m on the subject of Daniel, I have to say that the romance in this one is one of my favorites – the tension between Eleanor and Daniel is ridiculous, and I can’t wait to see what happens with them in the next book.

I wasn’t super crazy about the twist at the end of the book, mostly because I already guessed what it was pretty early on in the book. I did like how it set up conflict for the other books, though. Overall, I really loved Something Strange and Deadly, and I can’t wait to read the next book!

View all my reviews

4 thoughts on “Review: Something Strange and Deadly

Leave a Reply

