Writing

Updates, updates everywhere.

Currently Listening To: Howard Shore – “Axe Or Sword”
Currently Reading: Isolde, Queen of the Western Isle by Rosalind Miles

I realized it’s been a long time since I’ve posted an actual update, so I figured I’d jot down a bulleted list of what I’ve been up to lately.

  • The obvious: NaNo. This is how November panned out for me:

Screen Shot 2012-12-03 at 7.48.02 AM

The only explanation I can come up with is…I got bored. I loved my idea, and outlined it, and when I sat down to actually write it, I just couldn’t get into it. Like I said, this is an idea that I love, so I’m going to come back to this one. I don’t know that any of the words I wrote are salvageable, though, so I’m going to start over, in between revising SHARDS.

  • I spent last week reading through my CP Caitlin’s New Adult manuscript, which I thoroughly enjoyed, and you’ll hopefully get to read someday. I also learned a lot of Australian slang (which I was instructed to Americanize), so it was educational all around. (My roommate, on the other hand, was very depressed when I mentioned waxing poetic at the differing connotations of bro versus brah.)
  • And now that NaNo is over and I finished Caitlin’s MS, I can return my attention to revising SHARDS. Right now I’m going through and fleshing things out, particularly where my characters are concerned. Mostly I’m just trying to get some more of Calanthe’s thoughts and reactions in, since all we’re getting in earlier drafts is things happening to her, instead of with her (does that make sense?), and some of the other characters are inconsistent. Sooooo yeah. Characters.
  • Now that I’ve got my plot problems more or less sorted out, I’ve also sort of started drafting the next book in the trilogy, OPAQUE, which will be more challenging in that I’ll be working with dual POVs. (Why I didn’t just do that one for NaNo, I have no idea.)

I’ve got tons of ideas for blog posts, but I haven’t had much motivation to write them up…but my winter break is only two weeks away, and I’ll have tons of free time, so I’ll be able to write them up and schedule them. You’ll have those to look forward to soon, lovelies 🙂

Leave a Reply

