Road Trip Wednesday, Writing

Road Trip Wednesday: Revising

YAHighwaylogo
Road Trip Wednesday is a ‘Blog Carnival,’ where YA Highway’s contributors post a weekly writing- or reading-related question that begs to be answered. In the comments, you can hop from destination to destination and get everybody’s unique take on the topic. 

We’d love for you to participate! Just answer the prompt on your own blog and leave a link – or, if you prefer, you can include your answer in the comments.

This Week’s Topic is: For many, December is a post-NaNoWriMo revision haze! How do you approach editing/revising? Any tips or tricks or resources you can share?

I approach revising like this:

https://i0.wp.com/i212.photobucket.com/albums/cc219/hippiecamerachickee/Spongebob.gif

I mean, that’s probably everyone’s reaction, right? At least, that’s everyone’s reaction when faced with the insurmountable task of molding that wondrous pile of crap that is Your Novel into something that people might want to read someday.

You can’t look at it that way. When I revise, I like to take it in pieces. When I rewrote SHARDS over the summer, the only thing I focused on was fixing that godawful plot. Now that I more or less know how everything is gonna go down, I’m using this current draft to work on my characters – namely, bringing out Calanthe’s voice more, making sure I properly develop her relationships with people around her, giving some of the minor characters more time to shine. When I write my inevitable next draft, I’ll use it to tweak the things my CPs have told me to take a closer look at. Only when I know I’ve got the story and characters query-ready will I do my final polishing, which is when I’ll go through and read it out loud and fix all those convoluted sentences the history major in me loves, not to mention all the passive voice.

So. That’s my advice: break it down. Once you break your revisions down into parts, it’ll seem less overwhelming, and you’ll be able to concentrate more on each thing instead of running around trying to catch ALL THE THINGS in one go.

What are your tips and tricks for revising?

4 thoughts on “Road Trip Wednesday: Revising”

  1. I like the ‘break it down’ advice. When you see 100+ pages that need revision, hyperventilation may occur. But when you break it down into a goal of four or five pages per day — well, that’s not so scary. That’s totally doable.

    1. I do the lists sometimes, too. Usually when I’m drafting, and I know already what things I’m going to want to go back and look at again. That way I can just keep going and get the draft done!

Leave a Reply

