Road Trip Wednesday

Road Trip Wednesday: I read a lot.

YAHighwaylogo

Road Trip Wednesday is a ‘Blog Carnival,’ where YA Highway’s contributors post a weekly writing- or reading-related question that begs to be answered. In the comments, you can hop from destination to destination and get everybody’s unique take on the topic.

We’d love for you to participate! Just answer the prompt on your own blog and leave a link – or, if you prefer, you can include your answer in the comments.

This Week’s Topic is: About how many books do you read in a year? Do you want to read more? Or, less?

IMG_0013

It’s varied over the past couple years. My general rule is I try to read one book a week (at least), and while I wasn’t always successful with that in college, I managed to make up ground on my quarter breaks, and it generally averaged out to around 50 books a year. (For my purposes, I only counted things I read for fun, not all of the other things I had to read for my history and English classes.)

This year, though, my first year out of college, I’ve read 74 so far, which is one short of my goal of 75 (which I set back in July or August when I hit my original goal of 55). Even during my student teaching, I read one or two books a week, because I would get home from school around 5 every night, and I would just want to take an hour or two to veg before I even thought about trying to get more work done. And since I’m subbing now, I don’t have any grading or planning to do outside of my usual workday, so I don’t have anything I need to do when I get home.

I’m hoping to have more reading years like I did this year; I might even set my goal as 100 next year, just to revel in the fact that I don’t have to spend all my time reading medieval texts anymore!

How many books do you usually read in a year?

3 thoughts on “Road Trip Wednesday: I read a lot.

  1. I have a friend who doesn’t read for pleasure, ever. I read only for pleasure now, since I’m not in school. I think it’s great to just get to read and decide what you read and why. And to have times when you can read as much as you want.

    1. I can’t imagine not ever reading for pleasure. Even when I was swamped with schoolwork, I still tried to have a book for pleasure in progress, even if I could only read a few pages here and there. :/

      1. I know. I feel like I’m always reading a new book, and when I find someone who doesn’t enjoy it, it boggles me.

Leave a Reply

