YA Superlatives Blogfest

Class of 2012: YA Superlatives Blogfest, Day 2

class-of-2012-buttonf

I’m back for Day 2 of the YA Superlatives Blogfest! Today’s theme is Popularity Contest, and we’ve been instructed to choose our picks from any YA book. (ETA: I thought that’s what I’ve read. But everyone so far has only been picking from 2012 releases, so maybe I read it wrong? OH WELL.)

Well, that makes things a little more complicated.

Class Clown
Fred and George Weasley, the Harry Potter series
HPIt’s not like there was any other option, was there? I don’t think there’s a single person on this planet who can think of these two without smiling, and you totally still cry over You-Know-What in Deathly Hallows.

Most Likely To Become A Rock Star
Haymitch Abernathy, The Hunger Games trilogy
THGHe already has the lifestyle down. You know his first album is gonna drop any day now.

Most Likely To Start A Riot
Miranda North, False Memory
falsememory
This one might be a bit of a cop-out because if you’ve read the book…well, you already know that Miranda sort of already does start riots…which actually makes her the perfect choice because she has a proven track record.

Biggest Flirt
The Darkling, Shadow and Bone
Shadow and Bone
I can’t really explain my reasons without spoilers, but if you’ve read the book, you should get it.

Fashion Queen
Celaena Sardothien, Throne of Glass
Throne of GlassThere is very rarely a time when Celaena isn’t trying on yet more clothing. If I had to choose a fictional person to go shopping with, there is no question that it would be Celaena.

Girl You’d Most Want For Your BFF
Meliara Astiar, Crown Duel
Crown DuelMel is snarky and loves reading and history. She’d probably be down to discuss the Black Death any day, and that’s all I really need in a bestie.

Boy You Wish You’d Dated In High School
Sean Kendrick, The Scorpio Races
The Scorpio RacesI was never into the high school dating scene, but I feel like I would’ve made an exception for Sean. He’s more mature than the other boys (which I’m not going to pin to his age, because that’s no indication AT ALL), he knows how to treat a girl, and he’s a little quieter, so High School Me probably wouldn’t have been as intimidated by him as she would’ve been by someone like, say Augustus Waters. (Who I almost picked, but while I’d love someone like that now, I never would’ve been able to keep up with him when I was in high school.)

Most Likely To Become President
Vidanric Renselaus, Crown Duel
Crown DuelVidanric is smart, determined, and doesn’t forget who he’s actually working for, not to mention how good he is at reaching across the aisle. He definitely has my vote.

Quirkiest Character
Quintana, Froi of the Exiles
Froi of the ExilesI’m not entirely sure if “quirky” is quite the right word to describe Quintana, but she is certainly the most interesting character I’ve come across recently.

Villain You Love To Hate
Queen Levana, Cinder
CinderI had a hard time with this one, mostly because I couldn’t choose Joffrey Baratheon for this category due to the Song of Ice and Fire series not being YA, and let’s be real here – the hatred I have for other fictional beings can never, ever come close to touching the hatred I have for Joffrey. Not even my dear friend Levana, for whom I almost fashioned a voodoo doll whilst reading Cinder. I can’t really go into the very, very long list of reasons without getting all spoilery, but let’s just say that she’s willing to do whatever it takes to get her way – even if she has to sacrifice a few million people in the process.

Favorite Parental Figure
Sirius Black, the Harry Potter series
HPDuh.

Coolest Nerd
Hazel & Augustus, The Fault in Our Stars
TFiOSIf they existed in real life, I’d totes hang out with them. DFTBA!

17 thoughts on “Class of 2012: YA Superlatives Blogfest, Day 2”

  1. On the YA Superlatives Banner it says 2012 releases, but I don’t think it matters much. 🙂 We’re celebrating YA and that’s just great! You have some characters slotted under categories that I wish I’d thought of. I’m horrible for remembering certain aspects of books. I’m currently reading THRONE OF GLASS, and I think you’re totally right about Celaena for Fashion Queen. I listed her for Biggest Flirt because she tries to rattle both Dorian and Chaol, but I think Dorian is almost worse. I should add on to my answer. 🙂

  2. Ooh, I almost chose Queen Levana…but I didn’t love to hate her, I just hated her. Heh.

    For the record, it’s ANY 2012 book vs only from the Best of you chose yesterday. But I agree it’s confusing wording, so we’ll change it for next time.

  3. I love that this Celaena character is an assassin with fabulous fashion sense XD I’m clearly missing out. I’ve got the book, I just haven’t gotten to reading it yet. Must do!

  4. I took the directions as meaning anything YA that I read THIS YEAR. So…I mean, we tried to keep it to 2012 YA released/or read, but as I’m sure you saw in both our posts, my co-blogger and I also chose things from non-YA books because we couldn’t resist. Haha.

    I saw the category for Fashion and immediately I thought CELAENA. That girl has expensive taste too! And of course, I totally agree with you about the Weasley twins, and Sirius Black is one of my favorite characters in the HP series. ❤ him!

    And the Darkling…I wouldn't have considered him for Flirt but you're kind of right, haha!

  5. Love your choices! Fred & George! (I was doing a writing workshop with an 8yo recently who wrote a story called Fred & George Are Trouble about, well, trouble-making twins…wonder what she’d been reading?) And Queen Levana is so awful. I can’t wait to read SCARLET!

  6. I love that in all of YA False Memory still get love from you. I really liked that book but I keep edging it out with others during the blogfest. Also, would you believe I’ve never read Harry Potter!? I have the whole set upstairs waiting for me, and I just haven’t cracked it open. 🙂

    1. I tried to show some love to all of the YA I loved this year, although some got more love than others (see: Green, John).

      I’m actually surprised at how many people I’ve met who haven’t read Harry Potter! They’re good, though, so better late than never 🙂

Leave a Reply

