YA Superlatives Blogfest

Class of 2012: YA Superlatives Blogfest, Day 3

class-of-2012-buttonf

Our theme for Day 3 is:ย Elements of Fiction. Which is probably self-explanatory, so let’s get the ball rolling!

Most Envy-Inducing Plot
Cinder by Marissa Meyer
CinderA cyborg Cinderella? Set in some future time in our world, complete with evil moon beings and a plague? Color me green, guys.

Most Formidable World
Ashen Winter by Mike Mullin
Ashen WinterThis category is supposed to highlight the setting I definitely wouldn’t want to visit, and Mike Mullin’s post-apocalyptic nightmare of the Midwest blows all competition out of the water, because it’s a place that’s familiar to (many of) us, and because there are no monsters here…just ourselves.

Wanderlust-Inducing
The Crimson Crown by Cinda Williams Chima
The Crimson CrownA lot of this book – and the other three books in the series – takes place in the mountains. The descriptions are so vivid, Hanalea is definitely a place I would visit if it existed in real life.

Loveliest Prose
Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver
PandemoniumI would read Lauren Oliver’s grocery lists if she published them.

Best First Line
The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
TFiOS“Late in the winter of my seventeenth year, my mother decided I was depressed, presumably because I rarely left the house, spent quite a lot of time in bed, read the same book over and over, ate infrequently, and devoted quite a bit of my abundant free time to thinking about death.”

We don’t even know Hazel’s name yet (well, I guess you do if you read the summary), but we’ve already got a good grasp of her voice, not to mention all of the questions we now want to find answers to…and all of this is from one sentence.

Most Dynamic Main Character
Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver
PandemoniumLena cares about the people in her life, and she’s determined to do anything it takes to protect them. She’s found something she believes in, and she’s willing to fight for it. She’s also grown up a lot since Delirium; when her entire life is stripped away, she finds a way to survive that and move on. I liked this new Lena a lot more than the old one.

Most Jaw-Dropping Ending
Insurgent by Veronica Roth
InsurgentThat ending was cruel. I thought there was more, I turned the last page, and…NOTHING. I would’ve thrown the book at the wall at that point if I hadn’t been reading on my Kindle.

Best Performance in a Supporting Role
If I Lie by Corrine Jackson
If I LieAll of them. ALL THE CHARACTERS. It would’ve been so easy to hate just about everyone for being so mean to Quinn…except Jackson made them so believable and easy to sympathize with, that I just couldn’t.

Best Use of Theme
Ashen Winter by Mike Mullin
Ashen WinterWhat does it mean to be human? When the unthinkable happens and you might have to do unthinkable things to survive, will you? These are themes prevalent throughout Ashen Winter, and while the book was really hard to read at times, that’s what made it worth my time.

10 thoughts on “Class of 2012: YA Superlatives Blogfest, Day 3”

  1. You’re totally right about Lena being a dynamic character. If you compare Lena from DELIRIUM with Lena from PANDEMONIUM, there’s a huge shift. I agree with you: Lena in Book 2 is so much more appealing than in the first book. I picked CINDER as my envy-inducing plot. I love that Marissa Meyer took a familiar tale and did something completely unique with it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Aaaaahhhh, yes, you’re so right on Mike Mullin’s books–I should have listed that because that setting is so formidable I haven’t even READ them. I find volcanoes completely terrifying. Eek.
    And I also picked CINDER for my most envy-inducing plot! How did she do it?

  3. I’ve been planning to read the Fault In Our Stars but now I’m in hurry to read it. That first sentence is amazing! Of all the books I loved this year, oddly I couldn’t find a really striking first sentence, my selection for this category is a cheater!

  4. AGH! I so want to read Lauren Oliver’s latest and am jealous when I see Pandemonium on lists. (It’s the second in a series, right? I haven’t read either but LOVED Before I Fall.) Also, I need (and want) to read Cinder. Marissa Meyer lives in my area and attended the school where I teach so the librarian has talked about bringing her in for an author appearance this spring–eeeep! ๐Ÿ™‚ Plus, I love that cover. ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Marissa Meyer did a signing in my area (which was awesome, because usually we get passed over for Seattle), and she’s super nice in person. I bet the kids would love having her visit your school ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

