YA Superlatives Blogfest

Class of 2012: YA Superlatives Blogfest, Day 4

class-of-2012-buttonf

Today is the last day of the YA Superlatives Blogfest! Today’s theme is Best in Show.

Favorite Cover
Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi
UTNSThis cover caught my eye every time I went into a bookstore until I finally bought it (and subsequently devoured it). I’m a huge fan of the colors, not to mention the simplicity. My feelings about the cover for Through the Ever Night are more or less the same.

Cutest Couple
Raisa & Han, The Crimson Crown by Cinda Williams Chima
The Crimson CrownYes, I know, I was Team Amon this summer, but I saw the light! Raisa and Han are undeniably adorable together, not to mention the fact that Han is trying to change his bad boy ways – or at least use them in the service of his lady friend. I dare you to read this last book and not root for them.

Most Likely to Succeed
The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
TFiOSI don’t have to explain this one, do I?

Most Likely to Make You Miss Your Bedtime
Insurgent by Veronica Roth
InsurgentI was a very sleepy teacher for a couple days, because I stayed up so late to read this book. I got several of my students to read Divergent shortly after this, though, and then they totally understood. With the stakes higher than ever, you’re going to want to keep reading just to make sure everyone makes it out alive.

Best Repeat Performance
Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver
PandemoniumDelirium was good, but Pandemonium was so much better. The pace was a lot faster, and I connected with Lena’s voice a lot more. Also, that ending. That ending was rude.

Favorite Finale
The Crimson Crown by Cinda Williams Chima
The Crimson CrownThis book was so difficult to read, because it was the last one, and I just wanted all of these characters I love so much to be happy. Is that so much to ask?

Romance Most Worth of an Ice Bath
Han & Raisa, The Crimson Crown by Cinda Williams Chima
The Crimson CrownI was going to choose Aria and Perry from Under the Never Sky, and then I read The Crimson Crown. Don’t get me wrong, Aria and Perry’s romance was definitely the steamier of the two, but there was just something about Han and his determination to be with Raisa despite all the obstacles that was totally swoon-worthy.

Breakout Novel
Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo
Shadow and BoneMost of the 2012 releases I read were debuts, and this one was my favorite of them. I really loved the world Bardugo introduced us to, and this book reignited my love of high fantasy. I mean, I never stopped loving it (I do write it, after all), but it did make me put aside all of the dystopian reads, so there’s that…

Best Old-Timer
The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
The Book ThiefI have never cried so much while reading a book as I did while reading The Book Thief, because it left me that broken at the end. As everyone probably knows by now, the book is narrated by Death – who is a character who’s easy to sympathize with, as lonely and often regretful about doing its job as it is. And then there’s just the way all of the sentences are put together, all of the words that were used, the way the whole book was written – beautiful.

Book Most Likely to Make a Grown Man Cry
The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
TFiOSI know several grown men who cried while reading this book.

Most Pleasant Surprise
False Memory by Dan Krokos
falsememoryI’m not normally super into the whole action thriller thing (which I think I discussed earlier this week), but several people whose judgment I trust kept raving about this book, so I gave it a shot. I was very pleasantly surprised indeed.

Most Creative Use of a Love Triangle
Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo
Shadow and BoneNo spoilers, but if you’ve read the book, just know that I totally wasn’t expecting that.

Sleeper Hit
Whispers in Autumn by Trisha Leigh
My Review Here
WIASince July, my friend Trisha has been self-publishing her YA Sci Fi/Dystopian series. Not only is it one of the most original things I’ve read in awhile, but I’m totally in love with the main character, Althea’s, voice. Three of the four books are out now, and the only reason I haven’t read the next two is because I like getting through my to do list. (They are sitting on my Kindle, though. Staring at me. Trying to turn me to the Dark Side.)

Favorite Outlier
Lol wut? I’m going to be honest, when it comes to MG, NA, and Adult fiction, I’m woefully behind, so I didn’t read any of their 2012 releases. Any recommendations, lovely internet people?

Your Turn:
Person You’d Most Want Fighting Zombies With You
Darla, Ashen Winter by Mike Mullin
Ashen Winter
Darla has already proven that she has what it takes to stay alive with cannibals on her tail. She’s good with just about any weapon, wouldn’t be afraid to slay those zombies, not to mention she’s level-headed in a crisis and will always have your back. I can’t think of anyone better to have helping me stay alive in the apocalypse.

Which character would you most want fighting zombies with you?

13 thoughts on “Class of 2012: YA Superlatives Blogfest, Day 4

  1. We both picked THE BOOK THIEF for favourite old-timer. (Well, I picked a few because I suck at choosing and because there were lots of good ones!) I’m not sure what took me so long to read that one, especially since it’s been on my shelf for ages. I’m really glad I did, though. I’m kind of thinking SHADOW AND BONE should have made it onto my list a little more, it was just that good. 🙂

  2. I would want Ismae from GRAVE MERCY fighting zombies with me–she is highly trained in killing, although I don’t know if her poisons would work on zombies.

    Also, your story about INSURGENT made me laugh–I was a total pusher last spring, when that came out, and BITTERBLUE, and a few other great things all around the same time. My poor book club kids were studying for their APs and didn’t have time to read, and I kept coming in all excited about new releases! (“But you guys! INSURGENT is out! I want to talk about the ending!” “Mrs. S, we don’t have TIME for that right now!”)

    1. The Crimson Crown got a surprising amount of love from me, considering how I never mentioned it earlier in the week. I didn’t realize how many categories it won until I was scrolling through my post again…

  3. Like Alison, I need to read THE CRIMSON CROWN. And can I just say seeing Haymitch totally made me smile? 😀
    Now to find zombies, hmmm I´ll take Bennett with me from TIME BETWEEN US so we could travel back to a time without zombies. Otherwise I´d take Tris from INSURGENT 😀

  4. I STILL haven’t read The Book Thief yet and I have no idea why!!

    I think if I were to fight zombies, I’d want to fight along side Karou, Tris, Four, Katas, Po, or Rachel (from Defiance). Who needs the Expendables when you have them?

  5. First, I love the GIF. 🙂

    NA is dominated by contemp romances so far, although I know many authors that are hoping to help NA branch out this year. The NA standards, I’ve learned, are: EASY, LOSING IT, FLAT-OUT LOVE by Jessica Park and LOVE STORY by Jennifer Echols. All but FLAT-OUT have some major romance and sexual situations. FOL is really great, though!

    I have not read THE BOOK THIEF and I think this makes me a bad person. I’ll try to remedy this in 2013!

Leave a Reply

