Book Reviews

Review: Inkheart

Inkheart (Inkheart, #1)Inkheart by Cornelia Funke

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I picked up Inkheart off a free books shelf at my library, and I’m glad I did. I think that the emotional attachment many of these characters have to their books – to the point where the books actually come to life – is something that any book lover can relate to.

Additionally, I loved Inkheart‘s combination of whimsy and sinisterness. There was a whimsical tone to the book, I thought, which only made a sinister story that much more sinister in contrast. I think this suited the spirit of the book perfectly.

I also loved the characters – well, most of them. I think Meggie was very relatable – I think 12-year-old me would’ve been able to identify with her. She’s just an ordinary girl, who finds herself in a position where she has no choice but to be brave, and I loved her for that. My other favorite in this book was Meggie’s great-aunt, Elinor, who comes across as really prickly at first, but ultimately wins you over with just how fierce she is.

If you haven’t read Inkheart yet, you’re missing out. I’ll definitely be getting my hands on the other books in this series.

View all my reviews

1 thought on “Review: Inkheart”

Leave a Reply

