Book Reviews, Road Trip Wednesday

Road Trip Wednesday: Best Book of December

RTW

Road Trip Wednesday is a ‘Blog Carnival,’ where YA Highway’s contributors post a weekly writing- or reading-related question that begs to be answered. In the comments, you can hop from destination to destination and get everybody’s unique take on the topic.

We’d love for you to participate! Just answer the prompt on your own blog and leave a link – or, if you prefer, you can include your answer in the comments.

This Week’s Topic is: What’s the best book you read in December?

I read a lot of books in December, thanks to being on winter break for two weeks, but there is one book that definitely stood out: The Crimson Crown by Cinda Williams Chima. Which shouldn’t surprise anyone who saw how much love I gave it during the YA Superlatives Blogfest.

The Crimson Crown

Reading this one was bittersweet for me, because while I wanted to find out what would happen to all of these characters after MAJOR THINGS WENT DOWN in the previous book, I was sad to have to let them go once I’d finished devouring the whole book in a couple sittings.

Han Alister is, as always, an appealing hero (even though he would in no way consider himself a hero), despite the fact that he gets everything he wants by lying and stabbing people in the back. However, everything he does is done to protect Raisa, whom he respects greatly. So, you know, I’m sort of okay with it.

Micah, one of the other men vying for Raisa’s attention, manages to be interesting and keep from my imaginary face-punching by virtue of the fact that he is as difficult to read as Cap’n Jack Sparrow. You can never tell which side he’s on; although he plays it off like he’s working for himself, I strongly suspect that he does genuinely care for Raisa. Unlike Reid Nightwalker, who did get an imaginary face-punching on multiple occasions.

Related: I gave up trying to figure out which shape best describes the romantic situation in these books.

Finally, my main complaints with the earlier books – that they moved a little slowly (mostly in the beginning of the first book) and that the story doesn’t really start until book three. You know, those complaints? Yeah, I retract them both. All of the threads that were introduced in those earlier books get tied up so nicely here, and in fact play a major part of the story.

In short, The Crimson Crown is an action-packed, brilliantly executed finale. If you haven’t read this series yet, you really need to, because it will complete you.

***

Because I read so many awesome books in December, I’d like to take a moment to recognize some honorable mentions that probably would’ve stood a chance of being my Favorite if I hadn’t read The Crimson Crown

AllegianceLegend

Allegiance by Cayla Kluver: I had a lot of complaints about Legacy, the first book in this trilogy (which I’ll get into this weekend), but I decided to give this second book a chance, anyway, because as I’ll mention in my review, I saw a lot of potential at the end of the previous book. The risk definitely paid off, because I couldn’t put Allegiance down – thanks to its blend of politics and fully realized characters.

Legend by Marie Lu: I really liked Legend‘s fast pace and world building (although, really, Lu had me at plague), but I wish this one had been longer in order to better establish the relationships between some of the characters. You can read my full review here.

What awesome books did you read in December?

9 thoughts on “Road Trip Wednesday: Best Book of December”

  1. OK, so I have the same problem: a lot of the best books I read are also the books I read the quickest because they’re so absorbing (there are exceptions to this–e.g., THE BOOK THIEF (but if I hadn’t been doing NaNo while reading it, I probably would have finished it in a couple of evenings)–but they are exceptions, not the rule). And that’s sad because you don’t really want the book to end.

    From your description, the characters in this book certainly appear multi-dimensional: good guys who don’t always go about achieving their good ends by the most honorable or ethical means. That certainly makes for interesting character development. Intriguing. 🙂

    1. The Book Thief broke the usual mold for me; it took me about two weeks to read it, just because I didn’t want it to end (which might also be partly to do with the fact that I knew it wasn’t going to end happily).

  2. I haven’t read any of the books in this series. I’m really into fantasy again lately, so these ones sound like good books to check out! 🙂

  3. I really need to get my hands on that series. I read THE WIZARD HEIR a few years ago and enjoyed it, but I haven’t read anything in that series or this one since then.

  4. Ive loved the WIZARD HEIR series- I’ll try this series next!. Thanks for visiting me along the road trip – and hey, if you liked THE BOOK THIEF, you should definitely try THE NIGHT CIRCUS 😉

Leave a Reply

