Road Trip Wednesday

Road Trip Wednesday: Laughter is the Best Medicine

RTWRoad Trip Wednesday is a ‘Blog Carnival,’ where YA Highway’s contributors post a weekly writing- or reading-related question that begs to be answered. In the comments, you can hop from destination to destination and get everybody’s unique take on the topic.

We’d love for you to participate! Just answer the prompt on your own blog and leave a link – or, if you prefer, you can include your answer in the comments.

This Week’s Topic is: Good for a laugh: who is your favorite comedian or funny book and/or movie?

mean_girls

It should surprise approximately no one when I say my favorite funny movie is Mean Girls.

I fully realize that this movie, to the completely lame uninitiated, seems completely and utterly ridiculous. (See: my roommate’s boyfriend.) But Tina Fey.

If Tina Fey isn’t reason enough for you, there is the additional fact that this movie does make some very good points about bullying, specifically girl/girl bullying, which tends to fall by the wayside because it tends to be more subtle than the classic boys-beating-up-on-each-other bullying that everyone thinks of.

All I’m saying, Roommate’s Boyfriend, is that it’s satire, okay? It’s satirical.

Ahem. Anyway. I need to go find some pink to wear now. It is Wednesday, after all.

8 thoughts on “Road Trip Wednesday: Laughter is the Best Medicine”

  1. I’ve never seen the movie, so I while I might be uninitiated, I am not offering a critical opinion. 🙂 I found it hard to choose a favorite book/movie/TV show among the many that make me laugh. A tough question, but fun to answer.

    1. There were a few responses I thought about – I reference The Princess Bride almost as much as Mean Girls, for example – but since Mean Girls is the one I quote the most…I figured it was an acceptable response 🙂

Leave a Reply

