Book Reviews

Review: The Lucky Ones

The Lucky Ones (Bright Young Things, #3)The Lucky Ones by Anna Godbersen

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Like with
Splendor
, I found The Lucky Ones a slightly disappointing conclusion to one of Anna Godbersen’s series – although clearly not too disappointing, because I still gave it four stars. On the whole, I enjoyed the book, but there were a few things I wished had been developed differently.

By far my favorite storyline was the one featuring Cordelia and Max; it was the one that was most interesting to me and (I thought) had the most potential. I appreciated the hint at racial tensions after a certain revelation from book two becomes public knowledge, but I do wish this book had gone deeper than it actually did. But then again, maybe doing that would’ve been too heavy for the tone of the book.

I found the relationship between Letty and Valentine odd. I know part of Letty’s character is that she’s naive, but there were certain things she did that I really didn’t think she would do, no matter how much she’s changed over the course of the series. This storyline was definitely my least favorite.

I had mixed feelings about Astrid’s storyline. I liked the love triangle, but she seemed to get over being imprisoned very quickly, and I wish the effects of that had been played up more. I did like watching her relationship with Victor develop, though, and there was a delightful plot twist that was enjoyable to watch unfold, as well.

I was a little disappointed because I felt like The Lucky Ones didn’t quite live up to the previous two books in the series, but I think it did a satisfactory job tying up loose ends. If nothing else, it’s another entertaining read.

View all my reviews

 

Currently Listening To: OneRepublic – “Secrets”
Currently Reading: Royal Street by Suzanne Johnson

One thought on “Review: The Lucky Ones

Leave a Reply

