Book Reviews

Review: What’s Left of Me

What's Left of Me (The Hybrid Chronicles, #1)What’s Left of Me by Kat Zhang

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I was really excited to read this book, and for the most part, it didn’t disappoint. I was immediately grabbed by the first line: Addie and I were born into the same body, our souls’ ghostly fingers entwined before we gasped our very first breath.

Well, I definitely had to keep reading after that. The concept of two souls – two distinct personalities, two distinct people – occupying the same body was interesting, and I think Zhang developed it really well. I think she also did a good job giving Eva and Addie distinct personalities, and the relationship between them was very believable.

I wish there had been more world building. While the stakes for Eva and Addie were very clear – if the government discovers they’re a hybrid, it will take them away – we didn’t get a clear sense of why the government would do this aside from hybrids being “dangerous.” I’m really curious to know more about the history of the hybrids and what’s going on in other countries, especially since these things were vaguely referenced but never really fully developed.

Overall, I loved What’s Left of Me, and definitely recommend it if you’re looking for something a little different in your dystopians.

View all my reviews

3 thoughts on “Review: What’s Left of Me”

Leave a Reply

