Book Reviews

Review: Little Women

Little Women (Children's Classics)Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I recently decided to reread Little Women, which was interesting because I hadn’t read it since I was 11 or 12. I remember liking it back then, but thinking it was too long. This time, however, I ate it all up with a sense of nostalgia, as well as an appreciation for what Alcott was trying to accomplish.

My favorite part was the relationships, whether it was the relationship between the March sisters, or Laurie’s relationship with all of them (especially Amy – yeah, I went there), or Jo and Marmee. The relationships all felt so realistic, and it was easy to feel some sort of kinship with the characters, as well, just because they were all so welcoming.

It was also interesting to think about characters in terms of what they represent. For example, Meg got on my nerves, because she sacrifices her own identity to keep everyone happy – probably what was typical during the time the book was written. Throughout the book, she feels trapped by her situation, and struggles with trying to find happiness because she defines herself in terms of her role as a wife and mother, rather than who she is as a person. She contrasts sharply with Jo, who is perfectly satisfied doing her own thing and pursuing her own dreams, and only gets married because she’s fallen in love, rather than because it’s what everyone expects.

Although, let’s be honest, having read this again, Amy is my favorite sister. I can’t let Jo have ALL the love 🙂

View all my reviews

3 thoughts on “Review: Little Women”

  1. I love this book. I wonder if I read it every 10 years, whether I might change my opinion on each of the sisters. Maybe come to understand Meg better. Maybe identify a little less with Jo. Makes me want to read it again (I’ve read it twice, but not recently).

    1. I know, right? When I was 11, I thought it was a nice story, but since then, I’ve done things like take literature and women’s studies classes where we’ve talked about those things. So I wonder what could happen in the next 10+ years that could change my thoughts on it again?

Leave a Reply

