Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Romances in Books

toptentuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

Top Ten Romances in Books

  1. Han and Raisa, Seven Realms Series by Cinda Williams Chima: I’ve beaten this one pretty dead by this point. If you need convincing, check out the love fest here.
  2. Lena and Julian, Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver: It shouldn’t be a secret that I’m Team Julian. The reason for this is I feel like this romance between Lena and Julian is so much more mature than the whole Lena/Alex thing, because by this point, Lena and Julian have seen less than awesome things, and they connect well because of this.
  3. Sean and Puck, The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater: A refreshing change from the instalove so common in YA. I loved watching the progression of their relationship, which was build on mutual respect and a shared love of horses.
  4. Aria and Perry, Under the Never Sky Trilogy by Veronica Rossi: I feel like these two balance each other out really well. Perry tends to act without thinking, while Aria strikes me as a little more rational. Plus, I just love seeing the two of them together, especially in Through the Ever Night.
  5. Tris and Four, Divergent Trilogy by Veronica Roth: These two are very realistic, from their initial attraction in Divergent to the struggles they face in Insurgent. I can’t wait to see what happens to them in the last book…and hopefully I don’t regret saying that.
  6. Mel and Vidanric, Crown Duel by Sherwood Smith: If you have read this book, you understand why they are my OTP. If you haven’t read it, you need to.
  7. Daine and Numair, Immortals Quartet by Tamora Pierce: I realize the age different should make this whole thing totally creepy, but they’re so perfect together, it’s actually not. I will fight anyone who says any differently.
  8. Alina and the Darkling, Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo: I would’ve put Mal and the Darkling here if that’s how things had gone down, just saying. It’s all about the Darkling.
  9. Eowyn and Faramir, The Return of the King by J.R.R. Tolkien: Faramir is one of my favorite characters, because no one really loves him and I just want to give him a hug. And then he and Eowyn meet, and help each other get over each other’s problems, and the whole thing just makes sense. This is my second favorite part of the trilogy, after the part where Eowyn kicks the Witch King’s butt, obviously.
  10. Harry and Ginny, Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling: I’ve shipped them since Chamber of Secrets, because my 10-year-old self totally swooned over Harry saving Ginny’s life, as much as 10-year-olds can swoon, I suppose. What Harry needed was a girl who wouldn’t be totally blinded by his fame, who would call him out as needed, and who just say forget it all and jump in to save the world right along with him. And since Ron and Hermione were meant to be pretty much from the second they met, the only other person this could possibly be was Ginny. Also, Ginny is one of the most underrated Harry Potter characters, so there.

What are your favorite book romances?

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Romances in Books”

  1. Dude. Faramir is awesome. Eowyn, Faramir, and Aragorn are my favorite characters. (*cough especially in the movies cough because archetypal characters are cool and all but they’re more dynamic in the films cough and also Viggo Mortensen and David Wenham HELLO cough* )

  2. I guess I’d have to go with what’s-her-name and Mr. Darcy from Pride and Prejudice. That’s all I can think of at the moment.

Leave a Reply

