Book Reviews

Review: Beautiful Creatures

Beautiful Creatures (Caster Chronicles, #1)Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I never had any particular interest in reading Beautiful Creatures until I saw the movie trailers and thought it looked like it could be awesome. I really wanted to like the book, because the premise sounded really interesting, but I just couldn’t get into it.

I think my biggest issue with this book, aside from its immediate resemblance in tone to Twilight (of which I am Not A Fan), was how slow it was. The story doesn’t really start for at least 100 pages, and by the time I got to that point, I just didn’t care anymore.

I also was a little put off by Ethan and Lena’s relationship. Ethan doesn’t question anything – not the fact that Lena, a girl he has had dreams about, suddenly appears out of nowhere, and – this is the most problematic part for me – most certainly not the fact that Lena can read his mind. Isn’t that something a normal person would question? The whole mind-reading thing struck me as creepy, and it bothered me a lot that Ethan just goes with it without even stopping to question it. I wasn’t a huge fan of Lena. She came across as melodramatic and woe is me, and I feel like Ethan could’ve tried harder to get her out of it.

There were things I did like. For example, the setting was my favorite part of the book. It really came to life from the first page, and it was definitely a character in its own right. I also really loved the premise – I just wish it had been executed better.

Overall, I was underwhelmed with Beautiful Creatures, which disappointed me because I went into it with high expectations. I probably will still go see the movie at some point, because I really love the story, but I probably won’t pick up any of the other books in the series.

View all my reviews

6 thoughts on “Review: Beautiful Creatures”

  1. I have been resistant to reading these, even though I saw the authors at Austin Teen Bookfest and throughly enjoyed their panel. I have heard this same kind of criticism from others, but yours is the most clearly explained. Thanks!

  2. I thought about reading this book, but something has kept me from it. For one thing, I felt, as YA, it shouldn’t be such a huge first book. That’s not always a sign that the writer rambles too much, but it seems, in this case, it is.

Leave a Reply

