Road Trip Wednesday

Road Trip Wednesday: Best Book of February

RTWRoad Trip Wednesday is a ‘Blog Carnival,’ where YA Highway’s contributors post a weekly writing- or reading-related question that begs to be answered. In the comments, you can hop from destination to destination and get everybody’s unique take on the topic.

We’d love for you to participate! Just answer the prompt on your own blog and leave a link – or, if you prefer, you can include your answer in the comments.

This Week’s Topic is: What’s the best book you’ve read in February?

February has been an interesting reading month for me. I read a lot of totally awesome books that completely blew my mind, but I read just as many that left me rather unimpressed – including my first real, genuine, did-not-finish basically ever. So, uh, there’s that, I guess.

Fortunately, this post will highlight the books in that first group. And…we have a tie!

13253276
I really, really liked Under the Never Sky, but I loved Through the Ever Night. Like UTNS, TTEN had a brilliant mix of action and romance. This time around, we saw even more character development, and we also got to see more of Roar (which I am never opposed to). Additionally, it did a great job setting up for the finale. Can it just be next year already?

12558285
I didn’t have any expectations going into Splintered, so I was very pleasantly surprised. It was a fantastic retelling of the Alice in Wonderland stories, but it was amazing in its own right. Alyssa’s character development is phenomenal, the love triangle is well-executed (and her chemistry with both gentlemen is excellent), and the writing is gorgeous.

Okay. I’ll stop before I wear out my thesaurus.

Honorable Mentions:
103459371169905513035363

All book covers link to their Goodreads pages.

What was the best book you read in February?

11 thoughts on “Road Trip Wednesday: Best Book of February

  1. I’m so glad you loved THROUGH THE EVER NIGHT as much as I did. I am really impatient for INTO THE STILL BLUE to get here. And I saw on Goodreads how much you loved SPLINTERED, so I promptly went and added it to my TBR list. I had heard about it before, but now I’m really excited about reading it. 🙂

    1. I’m so glad I read Splintered. I hadn’t heard a whole lot about it, so the only reason I read it was for my Debut Author Challenge. Now it’s my new goal in life to make sure everyone else reads it, too 🙂

  2. I picked up Splintered in a bookstore but put it down. I can’t remember why (probably because my pile was teetering and i had to make some tough choices!). Now, I’ll go back and check it out again.

    You’re the third who’s mentioned EVER NIGHT. Gotta read it!

Leave a Reply

