Book Reviews

Review: Underworld

Underworld (Abandon Trilogy, #2)Underworld by Meg Cabot

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I’m just not loving Meg Cabot’s Abandon Trilogy as much as I’ve loved her other books. I can’t say what, exactly, it is, except that maybe compared to, say, The Princess Diaries, Abandon mostly seems to be falling flat.

One thing I’ve come to expect from Meg Cabot is swoon-worthy romances, but I’m just not feeling it this time around. There are two main issues turning me off of the Pierce/John thing. The first is how controlling John is. It’s one thing to be protective of Pierce – I have no problem with that, and a certain level of protectiveness adds realism. But we’re to the point where John doesn’t want Pierce to go anywhere without his permission, and he even locks all the doors in his Underworld palace to keep her from trying to escape again. He doesn’t even want Pierce to go save her cousin when it looks like Alex is in danger. None of these things are attractive to me – they’re just scary. The other issue is on Pierce’s end. Pierce stays with John because she’s sure if she sticks it out long enough, he’ll change – which I find problematic because I’m not sure how healthy that dynamic is.

Another issue I had with this book is the lack of tension. I didn’t really care, because I just didn’t feel the urgency a conflict like that one (Pierce’s family being in danger from the Furies) needed. By the time we reached the climax of the book, I just said meh and then moved on to the next book in my library pile. It was, on the whole, unspectacular.

I think I probably will still read the final book in the trilogy, just because it’s Meg Cabot and I still remain optimistic (but admittedly increasingly less so) that this series can end on a high note. But in the meantime, I think I’m just going to reread The Princess Diaries.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

