Road Trip Wednesday

Road Trip Wednesday: The Short Story

RTWRoad Trip Wednesday is a ‘Blog Carnival,’ where YA Highway’s contributors post a weekly writing- or reading-related question that begs to be answered. In the comments, you can hop from destination to destination and get everybody’s unique take on the topic.

We’d love for you to participate! Just answer the prompt on your own blog and leave a link – or, if you prefer, you can include your answer in the comments.

This Week’s Topic: This month’s Bookmobile selection, The Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd, is inspired by The Island of Doctor Moreau, and its sequel takes inspiration from The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde. What other novellas would you like to see inspire YA books?

Novellas aren’t really a medium I’m familiar with (although I’ve had Jekyll and Hyde on my shelf for…a really long time), and while I don’t read short stories very often either, there is a short story that jumps out at me as something interesting to play around with.

I’ve read “The Most Dangerous Game” by Richard Connell a couple times, and its gruesome plot has stuck out to me ever since I first read it in my 9th grade English class. For those of you who haven’t read it, it’s about this guy named Rainsford who, while on his way to Brazil to go jaguar hunting, is shipwrecked off the coast of a mysterious island – and finds himself drawn into a hunt of an entirely different nature. (You can read the story online here if this sounds like your thing.)

I won’t give too many details because I don’t want to give away the entire story, but with the whole psychological aspect, I think this could be translated into an awesome thriller.

So, now that I’ve outed myself as not being shorter medium inclined: What are some short stories and/or novellas I should read?

7 thoughts on “Road Trip Wednesday: The Short Story”

  1. I don’t know many novellas either, so I too tried to think of a short story. Drew a blank. Too many other things to think about at the moment! Yours sounds interesting, though, Stephanie.

  2. Yeah, I think the only short stories I’ve read were back in GCSE times, and they were suuuuper boring. But I’d love to see a YA inspired by THE GLASS MENAGERIE. (Okay, I know it’s a play, but I remember it being pretty short and…well, I just want to see it.)

  3. I haven’t read many novellas either, but there are a few I would recommend: Things Fall Apart by Chinua Achebe, Bartelby, the Scrivener by Herman Melville, Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Truman Capote, and A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess.

Leave a Reply

