Book Reviews

Review: Defiance

Defiance (Defiance, #1)Defiance by C.J. Redwine

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I really enjoyed Defiance. The premise was really interesting, the plot kept me turning pages, and Logan was awkward and adorable. However, I had a few too many questions left unanswered at the end, most of them related to world building.

One of these questions was the technology. I didn’t quite understand how Logan had access to things like wires and acid for his experiments, but everyone was running around in swords and wagons. At first I thought maybe it was because different city-states have control over different aspects of the technology, but toward the end it became increasingly clear that this might not be the case. Essentially, the technological aspect of it seemed a little random to me.

I also had a lot of questions about the status of women in Baalboden. Women must be in the care of their Protectors at all times when they’re in public and aren’t even allowed to make their own decisions – but why was this? There was a vague reference to “protecting the most vulnerable,” but then it was never expanded on. I mean, if your post-apocalyptic city-state is constantly under threat from opposing city-states and a horrific monster, why wouldn’t you use all of your available resources?

On the character side of things: Rachel. I liked Rachel a lot initially. She was decisive and didn’t take crap from anyone, albeit a little impulsive. However, I liked her less as the story went on. She let her desire for revenge consumer her, and while I suppose this is realistic, it didn’t make her a very likable character; I spent the last portion of the book thinking use your powers for GOOD, Rachel!

While I’ve been really critical of Defiance in this review, I really did enjoy it, and I will be looking forward to the next book in the series. Hopefully Rachel will overcome the cray cray and be a character I can like again.

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Review: Defiance”

Leave a Reply

