Road Trip Wednesday

Road Trip Wednesday: Best Book of March

RTWRoad Trip Wednesday is a ‘Blog Carnival,’ where YA Highway’s contributors post a weekly writing- or reading-related question that begs to be answered. In the comments, you can hop from destination to destination and get everybody’s unique take on the topic.

We’d love for you to participate! Just answer the prompt on your own blog and leave a link – or, if you prefer, you can include your answer in the comments.

This Week’s Topic: Best Book of March!

I read a lot of really good books in March, so it was really difficult to narrow it down this month. But obviously I managed, somehow.

13206760Honestly, as much as I loved Cinder, I loved Scarlet even more. My main issue with Cinder was the fact that I called the Big Reveal from pretty much the beginning, but this time when I got to the reveals – and there were several of them – they caught me completely off-guard. (One of them was so shocking to me I actually yelled “OH CRAP!” and then mentally apologized to my neighbors, who are pretty used to me yelling at the TV during Seahawks games and Downton, but still.) But aside from that, I loved the characters, old and new, and I loved how Cinder and Scarlet’s stories were separate and yet still intertwined. And speaking of Scarlet, she is totally fierce, and I can’t wait to see more of her.

10429092I read the last 300 pages in one sitting, partly because The Girl of Fire and Thorns was just that good, but mostly because I had to get it back to the library before closing in order to avoid late fines and it turns out the library closes really, really early on Saturdays. I loved watching Elisa’s transition from someone who lacks confidence to someone who believes in and stands up for herself. I really wish this book had been around when I was a teenager, because I sure could’ve used it.

Honorable Mentions:
77288891153195717280224

What are the best books you read in March?

11 thoughts on “Road Trip Wednesday: Best Book of March

  1. Yay! Another SCARLET fan!! I too saw the big reveal in CINDER early on, but I got so into the story it didn’t bother me a bit. Neither CINDER nor SCARLET are perfect, but Marissa’s writing, and the story, are both so strong and compelling, the imperfections just kinda fade into the background. At least they do for me. CRESS can’t come out soon enough! 🙂

  2. I still haven’t read either of those. GIRL OF FIRE AND THORNS is on my shelf waiting for me to get to it. I’m also behind in that I haven’t even read CINDER yet, but I keep hearing such great things about it.

  3. I recently read Scarlet too, and, like you, enjoyed it even more than Cinder! I got to meet Marissa Meyer at a signing a couple of days ago too, which definitely enhanced my appreciation of her books.

    Will look up The Girl of Fire and Thorns. Thanks for the recommendations!

    1. The main reason I read Cinder was because I met her at a signing (which I had originally gone to because of Leigh Bardugo). It’s not what I normally read, so I’m glad she convinced me to give it a chance!

      1. How funny! Cinder isn’t something I’d normally read either, but so many people raved about it that I had to! I don’t think it’ll be my favourite series ever, but they’re definitely fast, fun, and original reads. Looking forward to seeing where she goes with the next two books.

  4. I really liked Scarlet, too! I’m still not sure if I liked it better than Cinder though. In some ways I did, but in others I didn’t. I still adore them both though.

    I really need to read The Girl of Fire and Thorns! I keep seeing amazing reviews for it.

  5. This is the second post I’ve seen about Scarlet recently, I definitely want to read it!

    I’m one of the A-Z Minions and just wanted to stop by to say hello! I’m glad to have found your blog. Good luck with the Challenge. 🙂

Leave a Reply

