Book Reviews

Review: Requiem

Requiem (Delirium, #3)Requiem by Lauren Oliver

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

It’s going to be really, really hard for me to write a spoiler-free review since so many of my FEELS are related to specific things that happened, but I’ll do my best!

First off, the ending. I know a lot of people are bothered by the ambiguity of the ending, but honestly, I loved it. I don’t really think there was a good way to end it by tying things up in a neat little bow – everything about these books was messy, so it was only fitting that the ending should be, too. (I tend to be anti-epilogue as a general rule, so there’s also that.)

I won’t speak too much to the love triangle, just that, even though I am unequivocally Team Julian, I did love how messy it was and how genuinely torn between Alex and Julian Lena was. Both gentlemen had good qualities that made them both appealing options – Julian’s patience, Alex’s determination and loyalty. But alas, I mostly just wanted Alex to die for real this time so Lena and Julian could be together. That being said, this is one of my favorite love triangles ever and all of the other love triangles can just go home.

Hana’s chapters were my favorite part of the book. It was interesting seeing things through her point of view, and having read her story, Hana, gave these chapters greater depth (although it’s not necessary to read it beforehand). Mostly her chapters just broke my heart, especially as it becomes increasingly obvious that her perfect ending might not be so perfect after all.

While I’m sad that this series is over, it was a fitting ending.

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Review: Requiem

  1. While I liked this one as a whole (especially Hana’s chapters) I wanted a little more from the ending. In fact, when I read the last page, I didn’t even realize that’s what it was! I turned on expecting more, only to find Alex’s story (which was admittedly awesome). And yes. Team Julian for sure!

Leave a Reply

