Blogging from A to Z, Writing

E: Endings

A2Z-2013-BADGE-001Small_zps669396f9Between last weekend’s review of Requiem by Lauren Oliver and yesterday’s post about love triangles, I figured I’d just keep going with the divisive topics. Today I decided to talk about endings.

I personally am a fan of the ambiguous. I think I have my AP Lit teacher to thank for that since his mantra was “embrace the ambiguity.” But I digress.

Unpopular Opinion: I’m one of those people who wasn’t a huge fan of the Harry Potter and Hunger Games epilogues. I feel like ending it right before was just a more powerful place to end it. The epilogues mostly just took the wind out of the sails, for me. (Dear Fandom: COME AT ME, BRO.)

Some Of My Favorite Endings (Potential Spoilers!):

  • The Princess Bride (film): I feel like having Buttercup and Westley ride off into the sunset together was the perfect ending. We know they end up together, but we get to speculate as to how the rest of their lives go.
  • Requiem by Lauren Oliver: I covered this in my review, which I linked to above.
  • The Dark and Hollow Places by Carrie Ryan; This is Not a Test by Courtney Summers: Hopeful, but doesn’t make any promises. Which is realistic, because zombies.
  • Just One Day by Gayle Forman: Obviously I’m going to read the sequel because Willem. But then again, this isn’t an ending that NEEDS a sequel. And there’s sort of this part of me that hopes Willem’s book stops at the same point as this one did.
  • The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger: I haven’t read this book in four or five years, but that ending really stuck with me. I just want to think that despite the way all of my feels were ripped out of me and thrown onto the ground, it wasn’t the end of Henry and Clare’s story.

What sorts of endings do you like to see and/or read?

6 thoughts on “E: Endings”

  1. I presume you’re aware that the Harry Potter epilogue was simply JKR exercising control over her world? She didn’t want to continue writing Harry’s story, but she didn’t want anyone else defining his future. She had already mapped out Harry’s life. So the epilogue was her way of setting the future of Harry, Ron, Hermione, and Draco in stone so no-one else would. It had absolutely nothing to do with the story, really. 🙂

    I don’t mind open-ended endings, as long as there’s some resolution to the main plot. I don’t like to read stand-alone stories where the story ends but nothing’s really been accomplished. Same with movies. Happy endings might be predictable, but the fun of the story isn’t ruined by knowing the good guy wins–it’s how the good guy wins, and his/her struggles along the way. The resolution is simply satisfying. But, as I said, I don’t need all loose ends to be tied. The author can keep me wondering about things. 🙂

  2. I know what you mean about endings. I’ve read some book where the ending’s felt rushed as though the publisher has rang and said, you know that deadline of next month. It’s in half an hour. I don’t mind some loose strands but the main plot needs to be resolved,

    1. One of my main problems with nice, neat endings is often they have that feeling of being too rushed, like the author started panicking because the story has to end somewhere.

      Obviously, with all things, I like them if they’re done well. So I don’t necessarily hate neat endings – occasionally they don’t have that rushed feel, and I do like those ones! But I can’t think of any examples off the top of my head, either.

  3. I seem to like endings that imply that while most of the major plot threads have been wrapped up, a whole new series of adventures or a new life for the main character(s) is just beginning.

    I hate cliffhanger endings that are setting things up for the next book in a series or trilogy. Unless you’re publishing the books of an interlinked series very close together, it feels frustrating and doesn’t make any sense to leave things up in the air and then have to wait so long to see what happens next.

Leave a Reply

