Book Reviews

Review: Mind Games

Mind Games (Mind Games, #1)Mind Games by Kiersten White

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I was expecting this book to be different from White’s Paranormalcy series, but I still wasn’t prepared for how different it was. It wasn’t different in a bad way – I think I actually liked Mind Games more than Paranormalcy. While there were a lot of things I liked about this book, it did have its share of flaws, too.

This book is told in dual POVs, first person, which worked very well because the voices were so distinct. I know a lot of people didn’t really like the stream of consciousness that was Fia’s chapters, but I loved it because that’s who she is. She isn’t going to tell things as logically as, say, Annie because she’s not completely logical. Of the two sisters, I liked Fia more, because White did a great job getting her mindset across, not to mention the fact that Fia doesn’t really want to work for these people – she’s just doing it for her sister.

The relationship between Fia and Annie was another highlight of the book. It’s clear early on that they need each other to survive – without one of the sisters, there is no other, because their lives are literally at stake. (This is another thing White does so well with this book – setting the stakes early on.) It’s also clear that there’s a little strain on the sisters’ relationship because of this – both girls feel trapped by the other, which lends some complexity to their relationship.

What ultimately left me feeling a little lukewarm about Mind Games, though, was that everything else about the story wasn’t as well-developed as the sisters and their relationship. The secondary characters in particular fell a little flat. I feel like the relationships between Fia and Annie and these other characters could’ve been developed better, especially Fia and James because a major plot point hinges on them trusting each other and I just wasn’t feeling that.

I look forward to seeing what fresh horrors Kiersten White has in store for Fia and Annie in the next book!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

