Blogging from A to Z, Road Trip Wednesday

I: Industry

RTWRoad Trip Wednesday is a ‘Blog Carnival,’ where YA Highway‘s contributors post a weekly writing- or reading-related question that begs to be answered. In the comments, you can hop from destination to destination and get everybody’s unique take on the topic.

We’d love for you to participate! Just answer the prompt on your own blog and leave a link – or, if you prefer, you can include your answer in the comments.

This Week’s Topic: The Veronica Mars Kickstarter success makes us wonder, what YA book would you raise $2 million to see a movie version of?

3682

I’ve been wanting to see a film adaptation of Libba Bray’s A Great and Terrible Beauty since I first read it in high school. (Side note: has this book really been around that long now?! [The interrobang really needs to be a thing.]) I know a lot of people probably think period films are stuffy and boring (albeit pleasing to look at), but I have a feeling this wouldn’t be a typically ‘boring and stuffy’ period piece – our heroine, Gemma Doyle, would see to that, with her constant rebelling and snarky commentary. This wouldn’t be terribly different from a typical teen movie, really, except everyone is running around in corsets and there’s evil magic threatening to destroy the world.

And okay, fine, I also wouldn’t mind staring at Kartik for two hours.

A2Z-2013-BADGE-001Small_zps669396f9

13 thoughts on “I: Industry”

  1. I totally agree, these would make great movies! Another person who answered RTW mentioned that they might be made! (It’s probably just that rights were sold and that’s it though so who knows.)

    1. I know Libba Bray has written a post about it (it was awhile ago so I don’t have the exact link) that said it has been optioned, but she doesn’t think it’s very likely to actually be turned into a movie – between the period aspect and the fantasy aspect, it’ll be a little pricy, among other reasons. We can always hope, though!

  2. I loved The Gemma Doyle Trilogy. Seeing the realms brought to life would be quite a feat of CGI as well. Good pick!

  3. I loved these books too. Haven’t read them in a while, but just imagining the CGI makes me want to re-read! I wonder if the makers would give the romance (specifically its ending) a more Hollywood-spin.

  4. Great pick! All of Libba Bray’s books would make good movies, but I could see Gemma’s story as a television series (probably on the CW) to covey the character’s depth and do her story justice. People watch Downton Abbey so period drama shouldn’t be an issue.

    1. Ooh, a TV series. I like that idea better than the movie idea – the movies would run a huge risk of turning Gemma into some annoying, snarky girl just because so much would need to be cut out. Plus, the more time I can spend revisiting the story, the better 🙂

Leave a Reply

