Blogging from A to Z · Top Ten Tuesday

N: Nostalgia

toptentuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

This week’s topic asked us to revisit a past topic. And so this week I give you…

Top Ten Childhood Favorites:

  1. Little House on the Prairie by Laura Ingalls Wilder: Pretty sure this is the series that is solely responsible for making me read as much as I do. I also read all of the other series, too: Rose, Caroline, etc.
  2. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling: The only reason I read this was because my mom bought it for me for Christmas when I was 10. Otherwise I probably wouldn’t have read it because I thought it sounded totally dumb. Obviously my mom was doing me a favor, even if she didn’t realize it at the time.
  3. Dear America Series: Elementary/middle school me read as many of these as she could get her hands on, and when she ran out, she read all of the spinoffs, as well. (The Royal Diaries was a great favorite, and my fascination with royal women has continued to this day.)
  4. The Boxcar Children by Gertrude Chandler Warner: I seem to remember taking to reading like a duck to water, so I spent basically all of first grade working my way through this series while all of the other kids in my class were in their reading groups.
  5. Nancy Drew Series by Carolyn Keene: 6th grade found me between Harry Potter books, so this was the year I read every single Nancy Drew book in my elementary school library.
  6. The Baby-Sitter’s Club Series by Ann M. Martin: As soon as I finished the Little House books, I moved onto these.
  7. The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien: This one is fudging it because I read them when I was 13, but I was obsessed. 8th grade was the year LOTR was cooler than Harry Potter…and then Order of the Phoenix came out so Harry came out on top again.
  8. Just Ella by Margaret Peterson Haddix: A Cinderella retelling, this was one of my favorite books and I read it a ridiculous number of times. In fact, I think I might need to reread it since it’s been like ten years.
  9. The Two Princesses of Bamarre by Gail Carson Levine: This was the other one I read a ridiculous number of times and really need to reread because ten years is way too long. I remember being really into the whole fairytale vibe.
  10. Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White: Um, duh.

Looking back at this list is making me extremely nostalgic. I’m thinking I’m going to need to revisit some and/or all of these at some point. What were some of your childhood favorites?

A2Z-2013-BADGE-001Small_zps669396f9

9 thoughts on “N: Nostalgia

  1. Your post makes me nostalgic too, you have no idea!

    My mum stuffed my sister and I with novels.
    My favorites while growing up were The Whiff of Money by James Hadley Chase, Texas Rich series by Fern Michael, Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (read that one twice back then!), Sammy Keyes and the Hotel Thief, the Hardy Boys…oh and there were books written by Nigerians too that I loved then-
    The Chicken Chasers (Vincent Ike), Arrow of God by Chinua Achebe (didn’t love the ending though!), Chimere (Ifeoma Okoye) and there were the Nigerian Macmillan Children’s series like Stepping Out (not on google)…Gosh I can go on and on!

    I sort of wish life was simple these days as it was when growing up. Come back from school, do your homework for two or three hours then spend the rest of the evening reading novels! These days, school books to read pile up to the ceiling and take the space of almost everything else 😦

    Quite a long comment, I told you this made me nostalgic 🙂

  2. OMG, The Boxcar Children and The Baby-Sitter’s Club series! I was soo addicted to them when I was little, I would re-read the first book in The Boxcar Children series over and over again. Too bad I don’t know where my old copy went. ):
    Thanks for stopping by my TTT, and seriously, you picked an awesome topic! 😀

Leave a Reply

