Blogging from A to Z, Road Trip Wednesday

O: On Poetry

RTWRoad Trip Wednesday is a ‘Blog Carnival,’ where YA Highway‘s contributors post a weekly writing- or reading-related question that begs to be answered. In the comments, you can hop from destination to destination and get everybody’s unique take on the topic.

We’d love for you to participate! Just answer the prompt on your own blog and leave a link – or, if you prefer, you can include your answer in the comments.

This Week’s Topic: April is National Poetry Month! Share your favorite poem(s) or poet.

While I’ve been known to write poetry occasionally, I’ve never been super big into reading it – probably because it reminds me too much of school. (I’m in a phase right now where I’m all I’m not in school anymore so I can read whatever I want! which has led to me reading tons of YA and not too much nonfiction or classics. Not that there’s anything wrong with that!)

Anyway, I do love Sylvia Plath, and she wrote one of my favorite poems, “Mad Girl’s Love Song,” so I thought I’d share that one today. Coincidentally, it also happens to be a villanelle, a form I have yet to find success with, which might be part of why I love this poem so much – it makes villanelles seem so easy.

I shut my eyes and all the world drops dead;
I lift my lids and all is born again.
(I think I made you up inside my head.)

The stars go waltzing out in blue and red,
And arbitrary blackness gallops in:
I shut my eyes and all the world drops dead.

I dreamed that you bewitched me into bed
And sung me moon-struck, kissed me quite insane.
(I think I made you up inside my head.)

God topples from the sky, hell’s fires fade:
Exit seraphim and Satan’s men:
I shut my eyes and all the world drops dead.

I fancied you’d return the way you said,
But I grow old and I forget your name.
(I think I made you up inside my head.)

I should have loved a thunderbird instead;
At least when spring comes they roar back again.
I shut my eyes and all the world drops dead.
(I think I made you up inside my head.)

[Source]

Do you have any favorite poets? I could use some suggestions!

A2Z-2013-BADGE-001Small_zps669396f9

11 thoughts on “O: On Poetry”

  1. That is actually my favorite Sylvia Plath poem. Thanks for posting it! Also, if you want beautiful, depressing poems about love and death, check out “Love is Not All” and “Dirge Without Music” by Edna St. Vincent Millay. Those are two of my favorites!

  2. I just read this poem for the first time the other day on another A- to Z challenge blog. It’s just gorgeous.

    And I agree with ellenmrozek’s suggestion of Edna St. Vincent Millay. I love her work.

Leave a Reply

