Blogging from A to Z, Book Reviews, Debut Author Challenge

R: Revolution 19 (Debut Author Challenge)

DebutAuthorChallenge
Revolution 19Revolution 19 by Gregg Rosenblum

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

The premise of Revolution 19 was promising: robots built to fight humanity’s wars turned against us and took over to save us from ourselves. Unfortunately, the book didn’t live up to its potential.

Revolution 19 could’ve been a much longer book, because in this case its brevity cost it a lot of much-needed development. First of all: the characters. I didn’t connect with any of its three main characters, mostly because it jumped around so often I didn’t feel like I got a chance to know them. I felt like a spectator in this story, and that really turned me off of the book as a whole.

Second: the relationships. I got the sense that Kevin, Nick, and Cass had a pretty typical sibling relationship – they give each other a hard time, but they have each other’s backs. My problem was with their relationship to the secondary characters, whose names I didn’t really bother to remember because, despite the crucial role some of these characters played, I didn’t really get why Kevin et. al were trusting these people they’d just met.

Finally: the plot. It moved fast, but not in a good way. There were several key points I think could’ve been drawn out or used more development, because everything that happened seemed way too sudden and/or convenient. Additionally, the ending was very anticlimactic, not to mention how unsatisfying the epilogue was.

The ending leaves things open for a sequel. I will not be reading it.

View all my reviews
A2Z-2013-BADGE-001Small_zps669396f9

4 thoughts on “R: Revolution 19 (Debut Author Challenge)”

  1. Interesting… I hadn’t heard of this one before reading your review. It’s not a genre I usually prefer and after reading your comments about connecting with the characters (huge for me), I’ll probably wait until it’s available at the library to check it out. Thanks for the thoughtful review, Steph!

    1. I hadn’t heard a whole lot about this one before reading it, but gave it a shot anyway because of my love of all things dystopian. Sometimes I’m pleasantly surprised, but this time…that was not the case.

Leave a Reply

