Book Reviews

Review: Sever

Sever (The Chemical Garden, #3)Sever by Lauren DeStefano

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Admittedly, I was underwhelmed with Wither, the first book in this trilogy, but the past two have made up for that. While Fever is probably my favorite of the three, Sever was a pretty solid ending.

What I liked the most about Sever was how it shattered misconceptions about a couple of the characters. I sort of had a soft spot for Linden in Wither (yeah, I went there), but he didn’t get truly interesting until this book. And Vaughn – well, I don’t hate him anymore. In fact, I was even starting to kinda-sorta like him toward the end, because we got to see an entirely new side of him that was lost in the previous two books with Rhine actively hating him. I always had the vibe that Vaughn wasn’t as stereotypically sinister as he appeared, so it was nice to see my suspicions confirmed.

Two things I wasn’t entirely sold on: the beginning and the end. My issue with the beginning was it dragged on, and I wish things had gotten exciting sooner. And the end…well, for the most part, I liked the ending, because it’s hopeful; hopeful is something these characters need after all the things Lauren DeStefano put them through. But there were certain things that happened that I wasn’t a huge fan of, which I can’t really go into too much detail on here because spoilers.

Overall, Sever was a strong ending to a trilogy that got better after a shaky start. I’m really glad I stuck it out to the end, because it was worth it.

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Review: Sever”

  1. I’ve been eying these books for a while, so it’s good to know the trilogy as a whole is good. I love it when you get to see a new side to characters that seem terrible at first.

Leave a Reply

