Blogging from A to Z, Top Ten Tuesday

T: Top Ten Tuesday

toptentuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

Top Ten Books I Thought I’d Like Less Than I Did:

  1. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling:Ā I talked about this one last week, so I won’t go into it again. But yes, there was a time I didn’t believe šŸ™‚
  2. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins: I didn’t really dig the description of teens killing each other, but everyone else was talking about it, so I gave it a try. I would’ve read it in one sitting if I hadn’t been on vacation at the time, because the story was that gripping.
  3. Cinder by Marissa Meyer: I only started reading more sci fi in the past year, and a lot of that is thanks to Cinder. I bought the book at an event because the way Marissa talked about it really sold me, and I’m so glad I did because I LOVED it. There were so many layers to the story, and it was so easily accessible for someone like me who never made a big point of reading sci fi.
  4. False Memory by Dan Krokos: I probably wouldn’t have read this if I hadn’t read Cinder, because the sci fi aspect would’ve put me off. I think one of my favorite things about this one was the fact that there were some plot twists that genuinely caught me off guard. Since I’m one of those people who can call the ending of a movie halfway through, this was much welcomed.
  5. The Selection by Kiera Cass: I didn’t know what to expect going into this, to be honest. I was a little wary of the comparison to The Bachelor because I was worried things would get a little catty, but I was pleasantly surprised.
  6. Whispers in Autumn by Trisha Leigh: This one involves aliens. Which I’m not normally into, but since Trisha is a friend of mine, I read it anyway and I loved it because of the world building and how heartbreakingly honest Althea’s voice was.
  7. Looking for Alaska by John Green: I never, ever read books from boy POVs, just because I didn’t think they’d be easy for me to relate to. John Green changed my mind and Looking for Alaska ranks among my top ten favorite books ever.
  8. Dracula by Bram Stoker: I’d already read and been put off of vampires by Twilight, but after reading Dracula I realized just how sinister the original is. Also I really love the epistolary format because information only gets revealed as characters learn it so it was fun trying to piece everything together.
  9. The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan: This was my first exposure to zombies, and it was more fantastic than I ever thought it could be.
  10. The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater: I’m not really into horses, so I was surprised by how much I loved this one. The setting really came to life, not to mention how much I loved Puck and Sean, as well as their relationship with each other and with their horses.

What books did you love more than you thought you would?

A2Z-2013-BADGE-001Small_zps669396f9

7 thoughts on “T: Top Ten Tuesday”

  1. There have been a few books that, based on the premise, I thought I would like… and was disappointed. FALSE MEMORY is one of those, I’m afraid. It’s a well-written story, but I never really connected with the MC, and I felt Dan gave way too much away that by the end, I felt I knew all there was to know, and didn’t feel compelled to find out what happens next. There are some of the reveals toward the end I’m sure he could have saved for book 2–keep us wondering and intrigued enough to carry on with the series. Sorry! šŸ˜¦

    I was wary of LEVIATHAN at first: I’d never read any steampunk, and I was disappointed by the way Westerfeld’s UGLIES series had gone (strong start, but really took a dive after that–IMO). But it turned out to be an amazing series–every book in the trilogy is a strong novel.

  2. You’ve got some on your list that I wasn’t initially sure I’d like. Oddly, what put me off of THE HUNGER GAMES was the cover. Something about it just didn’t grab me. I think the reality TV sort of vibe I got from the description of televised fight to the death scenes threw me too. I’ve always loathed reality TV, so I wasn’t sure this book was for me. Wrong! This book will always be one of my favourites. šŸ™‚

  3. I love Looking for Alaska!
    And I was wary of Harry Potter too… avoided them all until the third book came out and then I thought “I’d better see what these are all about” – and I’ve never looked back!

  4. I loved Cinder and obviously Harry Potter!! And I actually just got the Scorpio Races and am really hoping I’m going to like it! But the Selection……I did not enjoy this book! I’m hoping the next one will be better!! Awesome List!!!
    Here’s my Top Ten Tuesday

Leave a Reply

