Blogging from A to Z

X: Xtras

A2Z-2013-BADGE-001Small_zps669396f9A thing that seems to be catching on is authors releasing extra material to go along with their books, like novellas and short stories. I personally love this, because there may be characters or perspectives that can add some depth to a story or make you think of things differently. I haven’t actually read enough of these yet to generate a full-blown list of favorites, but one good example of this is Hana by Lauren Oliver. I read this one right before reading Requiem, the last book in the Delirium Trilogy, and I feel like it made me perceive Hana a little differently than I would’ve had I not read it.

What do you think of authors releasing extra content like novellas or short stories?

 

5 thoughts on “X: Xtras”

  1. This is a great idea. I know the research says that MG and YA readers love to know more about the MC’s life before, during or after the period of the time encompassed by the novel.

  2. I also have been noticing how much more is included with a book. Not just contact info for the author or a bio, but excerpts from the next book, lengthy afterword that summarizes research and added insights into the story the reader just finished. I also appreciate that some of this added material is written in a very personal voice. Especially when the story is self-published, I think this strengthens the bond with the reader. Neat post here! Thank you for visiting. 🙂

  3. I’m still not sure what I think about extra material. On the one hand, it does give insight into characters in a way that the series itself sometimes can’t, especially if the series is told from a first person POV. DESTROY ME was an especially great look at Warner’s perspective and gave me a completely different opinion of the guy. On the other hand, it kind of feels a bit like cheating. Like shouldn’t the characters be fleshed out enough in the series that extra materials aren’t needed? I’m also not keen on the notion of extra materials that give important information that you might need for the rest of the series, though I’m not sure that’s an issue. Like I said, I’m mostly tossed up about it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

