Blogging from A to Z · Book Reviews · Debut Author Challenge · YA Book Club

Z: Zealous (about YA Book Club)

Book Club Button

YA Book Club is an online book club hosted by Tracey Neithercott. This month we read Taken by Erin Bowman, so if you’ve read it, feel free to join in!

I was so excited about my copy I had to take a picture with it. It happens.
I was so excited about my copy I had to take a picture with it. It happens.

I loved Taken so much, I stayed up an hour past my bedtime to finish it. It started off a little slow for me, but once it got going, it didn’t let up. Since the premise was unique and I didn’t have too much of an idea of the plot beforehand, the twists really caught me off guard – which I appreciated, what with my strangely predictive powers and all. There was one I had guessed at because I’d already seen it done in a certain book I won’t name because I don’t want to spoil it for anyone else (review with spoilers can be found here), but aside from that I had no ideas.

The main character, Gray, wasn’t the most likable character. He was impulsive, needs to work on his temper like whoa, and does a couple really jerktastic things. In this case, though, it wasn’t a death sentence because he so obviously cares about the people in his life – particularly his brother, Blaine; his niece, Kale; and some of the people he comes to meet throughout the course of the story. While there were some times I wanted to sit down with him and have a serious talk with him about some of his questionable decisions, I felt like the whole caring about others (even if he doesn’t always play nice with them) thing was a pretty huge redeeming quality. Also, he’s a teenage boy, so it’s not like he was unrealistically portrayed.

I wasn’t as into the love triangle as I was hoping to be. Honestly, I just didn’t feel it with Emma and Gray, because I just didn’t see why Gray would be into Emma in the first place. They just didn’t seem to fit to me, plus Emma wasn’t as interesting a character to me as Bree was.

The end of the book hints at more world building in the next one, which I’m super enthused about. While Taken wasn’t perfect, I still need the next two books, like, yesterday. I can’t wait to see where Gray’s adventures (and impulsiveness, let’s be honest) will take him next!

A2Z-2013-BADGE-001Small_zps669396f9It’s the last day of April, which has also brought the last letter of the alphabet (which I totally stretched, I know!), which means this challenge has reached its conclusion. I just wanted to give a quick shout out to the entire crew who put this challenge on this year!

And now for something completely different:

DebutAuthorChallenge

8 thoughts on “Z: Zealous (about YA Book Club)

  1. I loved how flawed Gray was… Made him feel so real. As far as the love triangle goes, I thought Gray and Emma were sweet together, but I thought he had so much more chemistry with Bree. And on that note, I’ll make my declaration now: I’m Team Gray/Bree. 🙂

  2. I’m glad you mentioned how impulsive and flawed Gray was. He just seemed so much like a teen to me. (Especially that one thing he does to that girl in the first or second chapter. Yes, it was a jerk move, but it seemed like the exact thing a boy—a teenager!—with his personality might do.) Sometimes I think book boys are overly idealized, so it was nice seeing one like Gray.

  3. The fact that Gray cares so much was definitely a redeeming quality. And I love his interactions with the people around him. Sometimes, I scratched my head and wanted to tell him to step back before diving in but that´s also what I loved about the book 🙂 When it comes to a certain love triangle, I am a bit undecided…

  4. Ah, Gray…I agree with you, Stephanie. His actions were realistic (even if sometimes “jerktastic”–my new favorite word!) For the love interests, I’m still not on either team. I liked them both for different reasons. I have a feeling that I’ll be rooting for one over the other by the next book. Can’t wait to see how the rest of Gray’s story plays out!

Leave a Reply

