Book Reviews

Review: Legend

Legend (Legend, #1)Legend by Marie Lu

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I read most of Legend in one sitting, mostly because it involves three of my favorite things: a fast pace, a nefarious government, and plague.

What I really liked here is the world building. We get a clear sense of what this world is like, and what conditions led to its structure. I’m still curious about the Colonies, though – we’re aware throughout the book that the former United States has been divided in half almost down the middle, and June’s Republic is at war with the enemy Colonies, but we don’t really know why aside from one or two hints. Although, given some of the things that happen in the end, I think we’ll get into more of that in the sequel, so I’m not too worried about it right now.

I do wish Legend had been a little longer, though, so that certain things could’ve been developed a little more – namely, June and Day’s relationship. I felt like their romance took a back seat to all the action – which I have no problem with, don’t get me wrong – but I felt like it was a little underdeveloped.

On the whole, though, I recommend Legend; it’s another great addition to the dystopian genre.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

