Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Light & Fun

toptentuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

Top Ten Books When You Need Something Light and Fun:

  1. The Selection by Kiera Cass: This book had its share of problems, but I didn’t let that stop me from enjoying it. Sometimes you just need to read about a bunch of girls trying to win over a totally dreamy prince, you know?
  2. The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot: No matter how many times I read this book, I will never not love it. It appeals to that side of me that wanted to grow up to be a princess, not to mention how impeccably Cabot nails Mia’s voice.
  3. Twenty Boy Summer by Sarah Ockler: This one had some heavier undertones, but despite that it still manages to be a good beach read. There were enough light and fun moments that I think it qualifies for this list.
  4. The Disenchantments by Nina LaCour: A bittersweet tale of a road trip in which a lot of soul-searching and self-discovery takes place. One of my favorite contemporary reads ever.
  5. The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants by Ann Brashares: There are some heavier moments, but this goes on the list solely on the basis of Lena and Kostos.
  6. Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine: Just pretend the movie doesn’t exist.
  7. Prada and Prejudice by Mandy Hubbard: Because every girl dreams of traveling back in time to the Regency era and being wooed by an attractive duke.
  8. Alanna: The First Adventure by Tamora Pierce: I reread this recently in a matter of hours, and all of the friendship warmed my heart.
  9. Twilight by Stephenie Meyer: Before you drop dead of shock that this is appearing on a list of mine, let me just say that problems notwithstanding, I tore through this one in a day because Meyer creates sexual tension like whoa.
  10. Bright Young Things by Anna Godbersen: If you’re not looking for an in-depth look at the Roaring Twenties, this one is perfect. It’s like candy: there’s no substance, but you just don’t care because everything is so pretty.

Looking over my list again, it appears my criteria for “light and fun” was “not Game of Thrones.”

What do you read when you need something that’s not Game of Thrones light and fun?

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Light & Fun”

  1. I’ve been thinking that I need to reread some Tamora Pierce soon. It’s been too long. I have PRADA AND PREJUDICE on my shelf right now, and I think “being wooed by an attractive duke” sounds pretty darn appealing. I’ll have to read it soon. 🙂

  2. I’d have to agree that Twilight is a good comfort read. And The Disenchantments is a nice choice too. I see The Selection popping up a lot today so I’ll have to give it a chance sometime. Fab list!

  3. I haven’t read any of the books except Twilight and even though my immediate reaction was ‘wooooah’ good, after a few minutes, when it sunk in, I was all ‘Waaaait, whaaaaaaaaaaaaaaat?!’ and have not been a fan ever since. :X
    I have to try other books though.

    Thanks for stopping by 🙂

Leave a Reply

