Book Reviews · Debut Author Challenge

Debut Author Challenge: Altered

Altered (Altered, #1)Altered by Jennifer Rush

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I wasn’t sure what to expect from Altered, so I was pleasantly surprised. While it started off somewhat slowly, I had a hard time putting it down once things really got started.

The plot was full of twists and turns. While I won’t elaborate on these because I want to avoid spoilers, I will say I managed to be mostly surprised. There was one major twist I guessed at pretty early on, but it didn’t spoil my enjoyment of the book since that twist only scratched the surface and there were several other related twists I didn’t guess at. The plot was the main reason I kept turning pages, because I wanted to get to the end so I could have all the answers.

Another highlight of the book were the friendships. I loved the dynamic between Anna and the boys, especially because I’m not sure how many YA books I’ve read with platonic male/female friendships like this. I also loved how the boys were all there for each other, as well as how distinct each of their personalities was. And yes, I even loved Nick, even though he spent most of the book being a jerk.

Overall, I loved Altered. I realize the half-naked guy on the cover doesn’t really give off the whole sci-fi thriller vibe, but I promise if you look past the cover it’ll be worth your while.

View all my reviews

DebutAuthorChallenge

3 thoughts on “Debut Author Challenge: Altered

  1. Yeah… That’s a book I would normally pass up because, thanks to the cover, I’d feel like a perv reading it while at sitting at my daughter’s gymnastics practice. Good to know that the story rocks, though. Maybe I’ll buy it and craft some sort of alternative book jacket. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

