Book Reviews

Review: Easy

EasyEasy by Tammara Webber

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Initially I was put off a little by the summary of the book, because saying he watched her is something that could be taken the wrong way. I for one was like, “Is he stalking her or something?” I’m glad the overwhelmingly positive reviews from my friends convinced me to give it a try, because it’s totally not like that at all. In fact, Easy is one of my favorite reads of 2013 so far.

Easy was a deceptively quick and easy read. I read it in a matter of hours, and there is a forbidden romance at the heart of the story. But there’s more to it than that; it’s also a story about the main character, Jacqueline, becoming empowered and realizing what happened to her wasn’t her fault. As much as I loved the romance (i.e. Lucas), the empowerment angle was my favorite aspect of the book. In addition to coming to realize that being nearly raped wasn’t her fault, Jacqueline also moves on from her ex-boyfriend, Kennedy, and watching her realize she deserves better than having him walk all over her was excellent.

I also wanted to bring up Jacqueline’s best friend, Erin. Erin was easily one of my favorite characters because of how supportive of Jacqueline she was. She immediately believed Jacqueline’s story, stood by her no matter what everyone else was saying, and it was she who suggested they take self-defense lessons. Erin was quite possibly the most important character in the book.

Lucas was probably one of my favorite love interests ever thanks primarily to his obvious respect for Jacqueline. He, too, was incredibly supportive of Jacqueline and plays a crucial role in her journey toward empowerment. He had the whole brooding and dark past thing going for him, but he came alive on the page enough that it didn’t feel cliched at all.

Easy was an easy read (har har) with themes that give it a little more substance than I expected in a romance novel. Highly recommend.

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Review: Easy”

Leave a Reply

